After 15 years using PCs my two friends are buying their first ever Mac today...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Poncho, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Poncho macrumors 6502

Poncho

Mark and Heather HAVE JUST BOUGHT a 24in iMac from PC World after using PCs for the last 15 years.

Let's all welcome the to the Mac community (I have been bangin' on about for the last 10 years)...

2. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

Congrats!!!! I switched a year ago and will never look back. (Even though I fix windows for a living :) )

3. scienide09 macrumors 65816

scienide09

Good for them. Let's hope they enjoy the experience.

Now, it's your job to be particularly patient with them and to help them make the transition. After 10 years of you trying to convince them, that's the least you can do. ;)

4. maclover001 macrumors 6502a

maclover001

5. Poncho thread starter macrumors 6502

Poncho

A hiccup

Well here's a thing!

The first thing they did was to access their Hotmail accounts on line as their shared home PC got bricked by a virus two weeks ago.

What happens? They can't do it. They phone me up to tell me that their new Mac has a virus. They can't open new e-mails. They can see them but they can't open them. It's got to be a virus because the new Mac shipped with the Firewall turned off. They're not happy.

Anyway, turns out they'd downloaded and installed Safris Beta 4. Doesn't work with Hotmail.

What you gotta do is go to Safari Preferences, then Advanced, then check Developer, then go to Hotmail and pull down the new Developer menu and click on Firefox Mac and then you have tricked Hotmail into thinking you have come from Firefox. Shame that was their first Mac experience though.

Still, they now LOVE IT!

6. macgrl macrumors 65816

I switched to mac last october and haven't looked back!:)

7. ftaok macrumors 601

ftaok

Kinda silly of them to use a beta level browser and then automatically assume virus.