After Bootcamp Windows 7 RC1 on Mini, now can't load OSX

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jesterscourt, May 9, 2009.

  1. jesterscourt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    Short version: Paritioned Mar 09 Mini to have a 32 gig partition for Windows 7. Formatted Partition 3 BOOTCAMP to NTFS, now only have Windows 7, no option to boot OSX. Is it recoverable without reloading from the install discs?

    I believe this is user error on my part. Actually, I'm quite sure of it.

    I have been trying to get Windows 7 installed on my EEE PC 901 on and off since it came out with RC1. Keep on running into troubles. So I think, why not boot camp it with my March 09 Mini? There's plenty of space, I'll give it a nice little 32 gig partition, install Steam on it, get some Left 4 Dead action...

    Well Boot Camp goes fine. I set up a 32 gig partition. I put int the Windows disc when prompted. Fine.

    It goes to ask which partition to install to. I of course select Parition 3, BOOTCAMP. Cannot install to this partition... um... Hrm. Well there's a format button. It will format that partition to NTFS. Okay, I went ahead and did that.

    Windows 7 installs, no problem aside from having to update the Realtek drivers for audio. Install Left 4 Dead. Works fine. Even resync the BT mouse and keyboard so I can be extra lazy. I've had my fun though, and then I go to get back on OSX. It goes to a white screen, then loads Windows 7.

    I'm doing something wrong. I look it up online. Oh, hit the options key or hold it to choose an OS. No recognition, an off-white screen, then Windows 7. Oh, I'm using my BT keyboard, it must be that. I hook up a USB keyboard. Nothing. Hold X to boot directly to OSX. Fine. Oops, same thing.

    Now I'm thinking back to choosing to format Partition 3 from whatever it was to NTFS. But unless I am missing something, OSX should still be recoverable without having to reload everything, unless I somehow flummoxed the MBR, right?

    Someone slightly more savvy want to chime in?

    Correction: My friend was just over and is a big Mac guy. First question was, "you did put the OSX disc back in to complete the process once Windows loaded, right?"

    Problem solved? It just finished with the drivers, restarting, and now holding the Alt key will bring up the option.

    So that was it? Wow. Sorry about getting riled up for apparently nothing. Another question as an offshoot, since this does seem to be working rather well, can I expand that partition later on without screwing up OSX? I really don't have anything installed on the Mac side aside from iLife, Office08, and Boxee.
     
  2. iamthedudeman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #2
    Why use Windows at all, why infect your mac with a virus. :D
     
  3. jesterscourt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #3
    Left 4 Dead. I thought that was pretty clear from my post. OSX = the sux for game support.
     
  4. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #4
    If you don't have anything constructive to say, why bother posting at all?

    To the OP: Did you try putting your original OS X disk in and going to disk utility there? You might be able to find something that isn't right. Put the disc in and hold down C when the computer is turned on.
     
  5. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #5
    In Windows, go to the Control panel, Bootcamp, and select Mac OS X as the startup drive.
     
  6. jesterscourt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #6
    Thanks goes out to the most recent posters. Sorry I put my edit at the bottom, that the problem was solved by my friend telling me to throw back in the OSX disc while in Windows. But thank you for being polite. :)
     
  7. twobytwo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #7
    Hey OP - Did you try putting in your Leopard/restore disk into the machine when in windows? Theres a setup assistant that puts all the correct drivers in the right places, but also enables the option to select which OS to boot into.
     
  8. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #8
    Yes, make sure you have done this. Then, once you finish doing that, there will be a "Boot Camp" icon in the System Tray. Right clicking it brings up the option to boot into OS X.

    EDIT: OK I see you got it fixed. As for expansion, there is no way to do it without having to delete your Windows installation and reinstall Windows.

    EDIT 2: And don't try to use stuff like Gparted or Partition Magic or any Windows or Linux tool to edit your Mac disk at all. Why? Because Macs use the GUID partitioning scheme, not the MBR scheme used by Windows and Linux. Using those tools will probably screw up the formatting of the whole disk.

    BTW, Macs don't use BIOS, they use EFI. To boot windows, the EFI emulates the BIOS. Macs are a bit more different than PCs than just the design and OS.
     
  9. cocky jeremy macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #9
    Imagine that.. Windows messing up a computer. :eek:
     
  10. AVR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #10
    Not any more - you can use CampTune to resize either the OS X or Windows partition without needing to reinstall anything.
     
  11. avihappy macrumors 6502

    avihappy

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #11
    Oh wow! I should keep that app in mind. I wonder how much the final version will cost.
     

Share This Page