Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Original poster
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar
Hi guys,

I just started learning After Effects and will eventually be sticking 3D scenes into video. (I'm obviously not there yet but I am learning the interface).

Anyway, After Effects instantly gobbles up 16 gigs of Ram as soon as I load a video in (Its about 30 seconds in 1080p), and once I add a color correction filter it jumps to 18 gigs. I have 24 gigs in my machine (its the one in my sig).

Is this just memory After Effects is grabbing for use later? Or is it really using all of this RAM? I'm too new to After Effects to know :/

I suspect too it may be because I'm using 1080p video but again, I'm too new to know : /

Sylonien

macrumors regular
May 21, 2011
I don't know if other people do this or not but I tend to create a proxy first so it's not trying to render a 1080p frame each time whilst doing my effects in AE. Find it works quicker and uses less RAM.

cgbier

macrumors 6502a
Jun 6, 2011
Yeah, use proxies. You got a MacPro? You get the most out of After Effects with a $$$ nVidia Quattro card. There are tricks to enable Cuda in cheaper nVidia cards, but drivers seem to be a problem.

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Original poster
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar
Thanks guys for the suggestions :)

I haven't learned about proxies yet but I will look them up. Trying again with smaller video tonight reduced my ram usage dramatically.

I also plan on getting a quaddro card in the future, that, along with a third monitor will be my "graduation present to myself" once I finally graduate college :D

the vj

macrumors 6502a
Nov 23, 2006