After Effects CS4 - Unknown Exception ?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by polar-blair, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. polar-blair macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #1
    Hi I hope this is the right place for this thread.

    I have Adobe After Effects CS4 and have been it has been fine until now, I keep getting a message saying

    "After Effects Warning: Unknown Exception"

    Then it closes down, I have know idea what this means, Ive done some searching on the web but cant find anything helpful, has anyone had this problem before

    Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #2
    So when it "closes down" does the whole app crash/quit or does the message just dismiss. And is that all that is says or is there an error number, description, etc.

    Regards,
    David
     
  3. polar-blair thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #3
    Well I click to open AE then the pop up appears

    "After Effects Warning: Unknown Exception"

    Thats all the pop up says, there is an OK button, AE does not open up and all the options on the top menu bar are greyed out so the only button I can click is the Ok button on the pop up then AE closes.

    I have turned my MBP on and off - no change, I saw on the web that it may be an issue with plugins, which is strange because they haven't been a problem and I have used them before, I have made no change to After effects or any other program that affects AE that I am aware of.

    I dont have the install discs with me, so I cant try reinstalling at the moment.
     
  4. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #4
    Well, do you have the serial number and internet access? I don't know if you can access the serial number through the program but I keep all my serial numbers in a Pages document on my HD. I also don't know if it will remember the serial number if you download AE off of the Adobe site as a trial then enter your serial number. I would suggest downloading the trial off the website if you have internet access somewhere nearby and using that for 30 days if you will be back and have access to the disks in that time. I have never heard of this error before but am not using CS4 (CS3 for me:)).

    Regards,
    David
     
  5. polar-blair thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #5
    Thanks, Im just on holiday at the moment, away from home for a few days and will be back soon, so its not such a big problem if reinstalling AE will fix it.

    There doesnt seem to be much on the internet about this all I can find is this

    http://aeerrors.myleniumstuff.de/?p=489

    it says that Unknown Exception means that there was a problem and AE has no way of fixing it :confused:

    I guess Ill have to reinstall AE and see if that helps.
     
  6. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #6
    I expect reinstalling to fix it. If it doesn't I think you should call Adobe and they might provide better help. Sorry that I wasn't much help but I've never had a problem like this with AE.:(

    Regards,
    David
     
  7. polar-blair thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #7
    Ok I tried reinstalling After effects and no luck, it still wont open and it still says unkown exception and BAM, it closes itself. :mad::mad::mad:

    This does not make me happy..... one bit :mad:

    Has no had this problem before? Or have any suggestions as to what I should do?
     
  8. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #8
    At this point I think it is a problem with you permissions on you computer. Use Disk Utility in Utilities to repair permissions and repair disk if necessary. Click Verify Disk and Verify Disk Permissions then click Repair if it is not grayed out. This should speed up you computer and may help the AE problem. If this doesn't work, I would call Adobe. Although they usually aren't much if a help.:mad:

    Regards,
    David
     
  9. polar-blair thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
  10. polar-blair thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #10
    Well unfortunately that hasn't seemed to of made much of a difference.

    I guess I will have to contact adobe as it looks like no one has any other ideas.
     
  11. chrisalender macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #11
    I'm having the exact same problem. It started today and we're calling Adobe now. We tried removing third party plugins, which didn't help. The other programs in the CS4 suite work fine, as do ALL programs in CS3. If we learn anything more I'll post again.
    ~Chris
     
  12. chrisalender macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #12
    OK, heard from Adobe, here's how to fix it:
    inside your User folder:

    ~/Library/Preferences/Adobe/After Effects/9.0

    Delete everything in that folder. Then run After Effects, it should work now.

    ~Chris
     
  13. polar-blair thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #13
    OMG!!! Thank you so much, I can not thank you enough, That has sorted the problem 100% !!!! :D:D:D
     
  14. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #14
    Glad to hear that everything was fixed and is working like new!

    Regards,
    David
     
  15. juvare macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Location:
    California
  16. g_richardson3 macrumors newbie

    g_richardson3

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    #16
    Hello, I have the same problem currently, but with AE CC 2017. I deleted everything in the 14.0 folder but it doesn't solve anything. It just re-installs everything that i deleted from the folder. Please help!
     

Share This Page