After I put the Mac OS X disc in..

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by deuk1219, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. deuk1219 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    Hi! I just finished downloading windows 7 on my mac,
    on my first start up, I popped in my mac os x disc that came with my imac.
    and its supposed to download the drivers but its not!
    when I click on setup.exe it has two options
    Remote install mac os x (use this application to reinstall mac os x and other software on a mac without an optical drive. you can also use this application to open disk utility or apple hardware test on a mac without an optical drive)
    &
    DVD or CD sharing (install this software on this computer to allow users on your network to share the computer's dvd or cd drive)

    what to do.
    please help!
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Is the computer that's running Windows 7 the iMac?
     
  3. deuk1219 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    ? I dont get your question.
    I used bootcamp to install windows 7 on my 27 inch imac.
    When installation was finished, following the manual, I put in my mac os x disc that came with my imac.
    no options to update drivers.
     
  4. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    What OS did the iMac ship with and what OS are you running right now?

    Are you in Windows 7?
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  6. deuk1219 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    This iMac is a mid 2010 model, came with snow leopard (upgraded to the latest version before installing win7)

    And yes, I am booted into windows 7 and I put the disc in. and it says those two options.
     
  7. deuk1219 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    GAHH this is frustrating!
    Where can I get the drivers?!?!?!!??!!
     
  8. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
  9. deuk1219 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    those are updates!
    It requires an earlier version of bootcamp!
    unfortunatley, my mac doesnt have bootcamp O_O
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    Sometimes the installer doesn't see that you are on a Mac.

    First. Make sure you are using the grey disc that came with your Mac. Especially for 2010 models you do NOT want to use a generic SL disc.

    Then browse the disc in Windows Explorer to find BootCamp.msi or BootCamp64.msi and install that manually.

    B
     

Share This Page