after install of 10.6 (Time machine Question)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by HughJ, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. HughJ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Norwich UK
    #1
    should i just be able to plug my external hard disk back in and continue to use it for backing up and access files from the previous OS?

    or will 10.6 attempt to wipe it and start again?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Many people have reported that if there's not enough room to hold the new backup (since everything changed) it will try to delete everything.

    For me that was the case, I lost all of my backups after upgrading to SL. Not a huge deal once I got TM back up and running and I had a recent CCC backup.

    Just a word of caution.
     
  3. HughJ thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Norwich UK
    #3
    :confused: whats a CCC?
     
  4. tonyled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
  5. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    How are you installing 10.6.....an upgrade or clean install?

    If it's an upgrade, it will continue using the current Time Machine. For the 2 machines I've done the upgrade on, I've seen the first TM backup after copy 8-9GB of data.

    If you're doing a clean install, it will copy the whole system over again....so you'll probably want another disk or to wipe this one (assuming you have another backup of the data).

    -Kevin
     
  6. 5DollaFootlong macrumors 6502

    5DollaFootlong

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #6
    carbon copy cloner
     

Share This Page