After installing OS X Yosemite (10.10) it keeps saying I need Java Runtime

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by TsMkLg068426, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. TsMkLg068426 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #1
    After installing OS X Yosemite (10.10) I keep on getting message saying I need Java Runtume, why? I uninstalled Java long time ago because I did not need it. But I went to Java website and obviously there isn't one for OS X Yosemite (10.10).


    Can someone help me with this so the message would stop appearing.
     
  2. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #2
    If to message is about needing a legacy version of Java and has an "OK" and "More Info" buttons, hit more info and you'll be able to download what you need.

    If you just need the latest and greatest, the Java site doesn't need to say it works with Yosemite, just download the Mac version from here.
     
  3. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #3
    some app or something you are running requires it, the OS itself does not.
    for me, dreamweaver needs it...
     
  4. TsMkLg068426 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #4

    I did click on More Info and it tells me there isn't one Mac OS X 10.10 and this is when using Safari browser or when I turn on my iMac. I uninstalled when my OS was Mac OS X 10.9 and never had a problem why all of a sudden this is happening? And as for the latest version of Java why is it not yet up on Java.com if that is the version needed?
     
  5. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #5
    Can you post a screenshot of the message with the more info button and of the page in Safari that more info takes you to?

    On java.com it says "You are running Mac OS X 10.10, which is currently an unsupported platform for Java 7. Starting with Java 8 Update 20 (8u20), download and install Java 8 from oracle.com.". Java 7 doesn't support Yosemite, but Java 8 does, that's what I linked you to in my post above.
     
  6. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #6
    Do you have the Adobe CS installed by any chance? I got this during the Beta. A clean install fixed it,
     
  7. Alimar macrumors 6502a

    Alimar

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    New York State
    #7
    CS 4 required it on my comp in Yo-te. After researching, I found it and installed.
     
  8. shanson27 macrumors 6502a

    shanson27

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
  9. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #9
    Java is just all around bad. Flash and Java just need to die.
     
  10. Snoosedaddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    #10
    I keep getting this error as well. I downloaded 8u25 and installed, still get the error. I do have Adobe CS6, as was mentioned earlier, should I perform a clean install?
     
  11. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #11
    I believe CS needs Java 6, they're not backwards compatible. Does hitting more info on the error and then downloading what it links to not work for you? I have CS5.1 and it worked just fine and it has worked on several installs over the years for me.
     
  12. Snoosedaddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    #12
    No, does not work. Creating a Yosemite bootable USB now. This should take all night.
     
  13. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #13

    How does it not work? I have seen it work many times for myself and others. If you could be more detailed maybe we can solve it for you and others.
     
  14. TsMkLg068426 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #14
    So is there a plan for Apple to fix this glitch or only few people are having this issue? If I remove the app that I am thinking that is the cause would it solve the problem?


    Really dumb, Java is crap why is it still used like Flash I do not get.

    ----------

    Amazon Cloud Drive app was causing the problem moved it to trash hopefully it will not appear again the message.
     
  15. photomaniac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    #15
    I'm having the same problem...

    I don't know what app is causing this
     
  16. nomad707 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    #16
    I got the Java Runtime popup as well and installed Java Platform (JDK) 8u25 from here. (Although I think just the JRE might work as well but this worked.)
     
  17. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #17
    If you get the pop-up then you need Java 6. Java 7 or 8 will not work and you still would get the pop-up.
     
  18. Imperialeagle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #18
    Dreamweaver needs Java for OS X 2014-001

    I got this message when trying to open Dreamweaver.
    This is after installing Yosemite.
    I got to this link below and downloaded and installed Java for OS X 2014-001 and Dreamweaver opened up just fine.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1572?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

    Looks like Yosemite either knocked out that version which is required by Dreamweaver, or Adobe have yet to catch up with a new Java
     
  19. nicmart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #19
    Same problem

    I get the same message, even after installing the latest version of Java as per Oracle’s instructions.
     
  20. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #20
    I'm running Java 7 update 71 with no problems.
     
  21. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #21

    Yes, that's what downloaded too. I've still yet to figure out why it isn't working for some people. I also installed Java 8 so have an up to date version as well. Wish someone would post saying how it's not working for them so we can clear this up for everyone...
     
  22. Lactoes macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    #22
    Been having the same prob since installing 10.10. Not sure what's asking for it - maybe CrashPlan?

    I've installed Java v8 Update 40, to no avail.
     
  23. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #23

    Did you install Java 6 from the page the "more info" button links to?
     
  24. Jeff Flowerday macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #24

    Crashplan has it's own java runtime included.
     
  25. Eseifan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    #25
    I have the same problem since I installed Yosemite. I tried installing the latest Java version (v25 of something) but kept getting the same prompt telling me I need Java. I have no idea what programme is asking for it, I don’t have any CS or Photoshop type programmes (nothing at all from Adobe, in fact, apart from Flash). I uninstalled Java altogether but I still get the damn prompt.
     

Share This Page