After simple solution for importing images

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by koruki, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. koruki macrumors 6502a

    koruki

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    I was hoping someone can give me some tips on how to import files straight from my 5D Mark II onto my Mac. Went on holiday recently and brought along a macbook and external hard drive with plans to export files to the external harddrive via the macbook when the CF card got full. Upon actually doing it I realised the only import feature was using iPhoto. Not only did it take a long time to import, but it only took one version of the file, the 5D mk2 has the option to save a RAW and smaller JPG(you end up with two files of the same photo) when you shoot. I normally do a straight copy paste of all the files when its connected to my PC but I can't do that same with the Mac. Other than loading into bootcamp to view the camera as a storage media drive, is there another solution?

    thanks.
     
  2. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #2
    Buy a card reader. If you want speed and have a firewire connection, then buy a firewire based CF card reader from Sandisk or Lexar, otherwise get a USB 2.0 one. The card will show up as a drive in Finder and you can do whatever you choose at that point.
     
  3. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
  4. koruki thread starter macrumors 6502a

    koruki

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Thanks for the replies, wasnt after a hardware solution as I can easily just go into bootcamp and do it.

    Havent tried Image capture, will give it a go tonight. Does it extract the files from the camera straight to a folder in the computer?
     
  5. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #5
    definitely......that's what I've used for years

    yes....I set it up years ago and I'm thinking I had to set a preference to open image capture instead of iphoto when the camera was attached, and that I had to tell it which folder to download to....but now it's pretty much automatic
     

Share This Page