After these steps for jb/ul, iphone is stuck

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by thinkpad77, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. thinkpad77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #1
    1) followed the steps posted in this link to jb/ul my 3G 8GB 3.1.2/05.11.07

    2) I had my iphone's AT&T SIM on it and always plugged it to the pc usb port w/ itunes on

    3) After the final step (step 8 from the link above), I unplugged the iphone, turned it OFF (by pressing the power button down for few seconds, then touched the upper portion of the screen where it said "slide to switch off")
    NOTE: I did NOT unistall blackra1n before doing the above step

    4) Turned the iphone back ON immediately and boom-----just the apple logo.

    iTunes failed to recognize my iphone. Anyone know what could be the problem? Please help.
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    You have a tethered jailbreak. Just run blackra1n again and you'll be fine. Also, read about tethered jailbreaking in the forums.
     
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    That was my first thought, too, but he says he has an 8GB 3G, not a 3GS...
     
  4. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #4
    Oops! :)

    Then I would suggest restoring it in DFU mode (see my sig). Then try blackra1n again.
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    Yes, this. Make sure to shift-restore (Win) or option-restore (Mac) to 3.1.2. Do not upgrade to 3.1.3. I would suggest using redsn0w to jailbreak when you're done. I never hear of problems like this with redsn0w.
     
  6. thinkpad77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #6
    Thanks guys. I will try redsn0w next time

    Quic question - can i also unlock using redsn0w?
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    Redsn0w is JB only. If you are on 5.11.xx baseband, Blacksn0w should work.
     

Share This Page