again with the HUGE time machine backups

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MarlboroLite, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. MarlboroLite macrumors 6502a

    MarlboroLite

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    the 13 colonies
    #1
    This is pretty frustrating as I do everything humanly possibly to exclude all the obvious things from time machine (downloads, cache, iOS apps) as well as the notorious problem areas (virtual machine).

    About 3 weeks ago I upgraded to a new 500GB hard drive, transferred everything from Time Machine and everything took place OK. Today I go ahead to do a backup and after preparing the 500,000 files it told me that it was about to do a 33GB backup! THIRTY THREE GIGS!!!! How is this possible? The excluded folders are still there--obviously I have not changed around 33GB worth of stuff on my computer in 3 weeks. I have BackupLoup to check what gets changed but I am not about to eat up 33GB on the external hard drive just so I can figure out what the hell it is that Time Machine wanted to back up when I can't erase that backup!

    Can anyone think of any reason why this would be happening?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Torrents.
     
  3. ErikGrim macrumors 68030

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #3
    Are you using Entourage?
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Also VMware and similar products. It pays to exclude anything with large, frequently-changing files. Some torrent clients allow you to move completed downloads into a different folder, so you can back up completed files without having to back up the partially-downloaded ones.
     
  5. MarlboroLite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MarlboroLite

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    the 13 colonies
    #5
    As I said, I already exclude VWWare. Concerning the torrents, I'm not sure what you mean...when I download a torrent, both the .torrent file and the actual file are put in the Downloads folder, which I already exclude. So unless I need to exclude the actual torrent client I'm not sure I understand.
     
  6. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #6
    Are your VMware virtual machines still installed in the EXACT same location path that you exclude for Time Machine? Sounds very much like a windows VM is not being excluded. Might be worth deleting it from your TM excludes and re-entering it.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Oops, so you did :)

    Sounds like you're already set.
     
  8. MarlboroLite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MarlboroLite

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    the 13 colonies
    #8
    then i give up...I removed everything and re-added it to the exclude list and it still came up with the gigantic back up. I don't know what else to do
     

Share This Page