Age of Empires II

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Steven., Dec 2, 2015.

  1. Steven. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #1
    Does anyone know if it's possible to find a copy of Age of Empires II that will work on a MacBook Air?
     
  2. Mercury macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    #2
    You can load up Age of Empires II HD on a Boot Camp drive. I know it isn't ideal to get it set up, but it's really the best way to play once you get it loaded.
     
  3. Steven. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #3
    Thanks, I'll give that a go!
     
  4. n8mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  5. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #5
    It should run in Wine too.
     
  6. any-key macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #6
    AoE 2 HD is what I play with a couple of friends. You don't even need to fire up bootcamp. I play on a Parallels Win 10 VM (13" MBA mid 2013). Works like a charm.
     
  7. bmac89 macrumors 6502a

    bmac89

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    #7
    I play AOE on mac using wine and it works well. LAN multiplayer even works between mac & pc.

    You can download a wine wrapper here: http://paulthetall.com/age-of-empires-2-mac/
    and install the windows version on your mac without any hassle. (No VM & no bootcamp necessary)
     
  8. EdwardSmith36 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    #8
    Same thing I would like to suggest, one of my colleague was i need of same thing & he got his things done with the help of boot camp drive.
     

Share This Page