Ah! Quick, before time runs out...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by airplaneman, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. airplaneman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #1
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    I can't say absolutely, but I don't see why not

    Windows 7 will upgrade Vista

    In fact some offers now are advertising free Windows 7 upgrades when you purchase Vista

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #3
    Don't buy the OEM version. It is intended for large companies, like Dell or HP, to put on their computers and then sell the computer.

    You should avoid the OEM version of anything, unless you're buying components or software from the company that made you computer.
     
  4. airplaneman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Does it not work with some stuff?
     
  5. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #5
    Sometimes that is the case, sometimes it doesn't come with all the features of the retail version. It is just better to steer clear of OEM stuff alltogether. You never really know what will happen with OEM stuff.
     
  6. airplaneman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    OK, thanks, I see:). So if I get the retail Home Basic, I can still upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium, right? I couldn't find anything on Microsoft's site about it.
     
  7. airplaneman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    OK, I read this thread. It seems like I can install Home Basic and then a higher version of seven. Thanks guys:).
     
  8. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #8
    Yes that upgrade thing from Vista Basic to a higher version of Vista will work.
     
  9. airplaneman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Thanks so much.:D
     
  10. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #10
    Just a warning:

    If you buy Vista basic and want the $50 upgrade to W7, you'll have to get Vista Premium or higher to be eligible.
     

Share This Page