AHCI in Boot Camp (2011 iMac)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by skyrider, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. skyrider macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    just wondering if anyone has yet figured out how to enable AHCI in Boot Camp for the 2011 iMacs?
     
  2. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #2
    Seconding this.

    I'm not overly keen on doing the MBR editing yet. But the AHCI would be nice for NCQ and proper TRIM in Windows 7 for me.
     
  3. skyrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #3
    Precisely.

    I have achieved this with my 2011 MBP & the performance increase is significant.

    However I don't believe that the MBR mod is applicable to the iMac, hence my question.
     
  4. 88 King macrumors 6502

    88 King

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I know you can do this on a windows machine by changing one of the value in regedit from 0 to 3. However this should only be done if the hard drive in BIOS is set to AHCI and not IDE, or there is a chance you will get the blue screen when try to boot into windows.

    I cam post where to edit in the regedit if you feel brave. ;)
     
  5. skyrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for your reply.

    The regedit is required as part of the procedure; however that is only part of it.

    Macs don't have a BIOS so you can't simply enable AHCI in the BIOS as in a Windows machine. What it requires is the MBR to be edited in the Mac OS in order to enable AHCI when booting into Windows.

    I know how/what to edit in the MacBook Pro but I don't know the equivalent hack for the iMac which has a different chip.
     
  6. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #6
  7. skyrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #7
  8. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #8
  9. hikky macrumors newbie

    hikky

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    Austria (No, we don't have kangaroos here.)
    #9
    Would you mind sharing how / if it works?
    Thx in advance.
     
  10. skyrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #10
    I have posted a request for the info in the 'WEI' thread.

    I have also tried to contact the member concerned (Mashuri) by PM & email requesting this info but no reply as yet. If I hear anything I'll let you know...
     
  11. hikky macrumors newbie

    hikky

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Location:
    Austria (No, we don't have kangaroos here.)
    #11
    Ok,thanks m8.
     
  12. skyrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #12
    FYI: I know how to do this in the 2011 MBP but I don't know if the procedure is valid for the iMac.

    I may try it on the iMac anyway, just out of curiosity. What's the worst that can happen? ;)
     
  13. Mashuri macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    #13
  14. skyrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #14

Share This Page