AHT Error Code?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by trucking, Aug 15, 2010.

  1. trucking macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #1
    :confused:I was going to run AHT v2.5.2 on my (Late2004) Powermac Dual single core 2.0GHz. (unplugged printer,turntable,ethernet,speakers & plugged mouse into keyboard instead of ACD. I started holding option, chose AHT, starts to run LOBO and I get this error code after a couple of minutes.

    *****ERROR CODE******
    2STH/1/3: CPU BAD 7417 AD1
    *****ERROR CODE*****

    I wonder if anyone can tell me what this error code means?
     
  2. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #2
    cpu bad sounds like the cpu is dead
     
  3. trucking thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #3
    :confused:Thanks. Does anyone have access to error codes or tech manual to tell me exactly what error code means. (No guesses PLEASE as I can do myself:p)
     
  4. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    so as we established that its a cpu problem definitely
    and if i am not totally on the wrong path (i do not know all of the error codes out of my head ) then i assume one cpu gets too hot then reattach the heatsink (thermal paste ) and look after your fans one might not work as he should , a proper cleanout might help too
    and it does not read
    2STH/1/3: CPU BAD 7417 AD1
    it reads
    2STH/1/3: CPU B AD 7417 AD1 as it points out cpu B has a problem

    but it can also happen if your mac had a firmware update and even a OS upgrade can cause the problem when used with the wrong AHT version ( example your AHT version came with the mac when it had 10.3.7 installed , but you did upgrade to 10.5.4 it wont do proper readouts any more ) , you always have to use the absolute latest version for your Mac especially after firmware/OS updates ,otherwise it might show all sort of errors which are not actually present

    so to make sure takes a bit work , backup all data on the harddrive , reinstall the original operating system from the disc that came with the mac and use the AHT version that came with the Mac if that still confirms the cpu problem then follow instructions above (cleaning/reattaching/ fancontrol(if the fan is really running at the speeds it should ) )
     
  5. trucking thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #5
    I spent all day yesterday cleaning, checking connections, fans, erasing and installing. I also did all this in April when upgrade to RAM was installed. My Tiger (which is now Panther again after erase and fresh install) & Leopard are on 2 different Hard Drives.

    I ran AHT v2.5.2 (newest of the 3 versions I have on G5 disc, which is disc that came w/Late 2005 G5's)
    I also ran AHT v2.5 (Tiger disc early 2005) & AHT v2.2.4 (panther original disc for my late 2004 DP 2.0GHz)

    All test have same results:
    *Error Code* 2STH/1/3: CPU B AD7417 AD1 *Error Code*

    So now my questions are:
    Is CPU B the upper or lower? Can & should I remove it so as not to cause any further damage? (I've read in the past G5 would run on 1 processor as long as it's in the top slot.) If CPU B is the lower can I just remove it? If it's the upper and I have to relocate CPU A what problems might this create?

    No guesses Please as I can do that on my own. Thanks
     
  6. trucking thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #6
    I found it

    :)I found and ran ASD v2.5.8 error code was because Thermometer for CPU B AD7417 AD1 "Reads below alarm settings" Ignore displayed error.
    Also Thermometer for CPU B AD7417 AMB "Corrective action:NONE
    "Ignore any failures for this sensor." "Disable this test in ASD Select Test tab panel" Thanks for your input.:)
     

Share This Page