AIM and not iChat plus using .bin

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BIGUMs, May 6, 2008.

  1. BIGUMs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #1
    first time Mac owner. I have a MacBook and so far I love it. However I use AIM for chatting and the other day it started locking up on me whenever I would click off the AIMmail window that shows up right after sign on. and then it progressed to AIM not working at all. I removed AIM from the MacBook(i think) but now when I download the AIM app for mac my computer tells me I cant open a .bin file but it would when I originally downloaded AIM and as far as I know I haven't had any problem downloading .bin files before. I know about iChat but I like AIM better because its more familiar. Please bear in mind this is my first Mac. so what do I do??
     
  2. iHerzeleid macrumors 6502a

    iHerzeleid

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #2
    AIM has not been updated for the Mac in years, you should stick to iChat. Sure it might be unfamiliar now, but it really is better.

    What exactly scares you about iChat?

    BTW: .bin's are an old way to archive files.
     
  3. BIGUMs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    scared?

    I'm not scared, and AIM is supposed to work with Mac. I just would rather use AIM is all, and its frustrating that it did work but now wont. Plus I'm just trying to become more familiar with the MacBook, and fixing this will help me become more familiar with it.
     
  4. tytanic11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    #4
    There is a program called Adium - available for free at http://adiumx.com - that supports AIM/MSN/Yahoo/Google Talk and more, with a user interface that should be more familiar to an AIM user. Most Windows users I know that have switched to Mac seem to prefer it to iChat.

    As a previous poster said, AIM for Mac hasn't been updated in a very long time, and will be unstable and largely unusuable on newer Macs.

    As for opening .bin files, Stuffit Expander (a free download) can do that - it's available at http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/system_disk_utilities/stuffitexpander.html
     
  5. onebloodonelife macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #5
    Definitely go with Adium, you can combine all of your chat programs into one, and it's actually updated frequently.
     
  6. BIGUMs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    AIM vs iChat



    so far thanks for the help guys, but Im almost certain my computer has stuffit expander loaded, so why wont it work now?

    secondly, one of the reasons I wanted to use AIM was because I'm not the only person who uses chat software on this and whenever she logged in her s/n showed my profile info. Whats that about? Does that mean our buddy lists got combined too? I don't want a bunch of people I don't know IMing me thinking I'm someone else and visa versa
     
  7. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #7
    just create a seperate user account with admin priviledges on the computer.
     
  8. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    Well I understand you are trying to fix something but the issue is that AIM has not been updated in awhile. So it could be a system compatibility issue. The other thing is nobody probably uses it so support will be tuff.

    The only thing I can offer is did you install what the requirements told to?

    Installing AIM 4.7 for Macintosh OS requires StuffIt Expander version 8.0.2 or later on your machine.
     
  9. BIGUMs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    OK so I understand the compatability issues, and AIM worked for a while with no issues. But I have StuffIt already, I think it came with it but I still cant open the bin file and I used to be able to open it because I had to download AIM in the first place. What am I doing wrong?



    I have stuffit and it still wont work, and Im pretty sure I have the right syustem requirements and all that. I personally think its me not the computer, so what am I doing wrong?
     
  10. jrock2004 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #10
    try creating another user on the computer and see if that username has the same issues. That would be the only thing left I would think to do
     
  11. PHX-Locksmith macrumors newbie

    PHX-Locksmith

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    #11
    I would try what post #10 said for trouble shooting purposes. And have you had any luck with Adium at all?
     

Share This Page