AIM uses your texts!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by scho52386, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. scho52386 macrumors regular

    scho52386

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #1
    I am not sure if someone else has posted this, but I have not found it so far so I will post it. Sorry if it is a repost.

    I am not a big texter, so I did not get the unlimited text plan, I only have 200/Month. I noticed on my bill that i went over 300 text messages, and when I called to find out how, they said that it was through my AIM, the free app i downloaded off app store. Each message sent and received counts as a text message. Hope this helped someone, if not... :-(
     
  2. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #3
    aim does not use any of your texts. you can read about it in aol's faq page here. or look at the screenshot below.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #4
    The AT&T person you talked to is an idiot.

    They don't know what they're talking about.

    AIM does NOT use SMS messages.
     
  4. imaketouchtheme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #5
    Guess what? AIM doesn't use texts! That's only on those crappy, non-Apple branded phones. Bleh.
     
  5. scho52386 thread starter macrumors regular

    scho52386

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #6
    i will try to get a picture of my bill and post it soon. it shows that the AIM app used my texts
     
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    ^^ that isnt for an iphone then

    seriously do a search before hand as this has been discussed many times

    you do know your texts are for BOTH incoming and outgoing right
     
  7. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #9
    I don't even have a SIM card in my iPhone yet (it's unlocked) and I can use AIM over wifi. So yeah, it's definitely not using text messages to send and receive.
     
  8. rKunda macrumors 65816

    rKunda

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #10
    People should quit replying to "AIM USES TEXTS!" posts.
     
  9. Applefan123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
  10. DamnDJ macrumors regular

    DamnDJ

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #12
    I would imagine AIM only uses texts if you have the AIM Client on your mac set up to forward your IMs to your phone via SMS when you don't have the desktop software running.

    Otherwise, the AIM Application on the iPhone does not use texts. It's in the dataplan.
     
  11. BulkHedd macrumors 6502

    BulkHedd

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #13
    I was thinking I had seen something in AIM on the iPhone that would let you get AIM replies as text messages.
     
  12. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #14
    it might have been mobilechat, a chat client waiting to be released on the app store. they're going to have servers that will keep you logged in, and you'll get the choice to be alerted through sms of incoming messages.
     
  13. JCredible86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    On earth
    #15
    dont believe you + Y have an iPhone w/o unlimited txt
    :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page