Aiport Utility 6.3.2

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by thebizzle, Dec 6, 2013.

  1. thebizzle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #1
    Hey,

    Not sure if its something I'm doing but I can't seem to find the 'wireless options tab' in the stated version of airport utility. I'd like to change the wifi band as when listening to music using airplay the connection is a bit intermittent and I've read changing this can improve things.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Open Airport Util then click your device then click the edit button. Now click the Wireless tab like in my screenshot. Then click the Wireless Options... button at the bottom and you can pick a channel from that screen.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. thebizzle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #3
    Hey, thank you for the reply.

    When I click on the wireless tab there is no wireless options button. This is the problem for me and I wondered whether it was something to do with my version of airport utility?
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Hmm... my screenshot is from 6.3.2 so I don't get it. :confused:

    Maybe try to redownload and install from here?

    What Apple router are you using?
     
  5. thebizzle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #5
    Ahhhhh I'm not using an apple router does that make a difference?

    I have the airport express set up to join an existing network that stems from my BT homehub (UK).
     
  6. RMo macrumors 65816

    RMo

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    #6
    Does the presence of the "Wireless Options" button depend on your AirPort device? I know the Extremes (from at least gen 2, but probably sooner as well) support it, but maybe some of the Express models don't. This is just a guess as to why it wouldn't be appearing, so if anyone can confirm that the Express models support it, I guess we'd have to throw this hypothesis out.

    Like others suggested, I'd also try reinstalling the app.
     
  7. thebizzle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #7
    Just realised my homehub router only supports the 2.4ghz band, would this make a difference?

    Also, sorry basic question, whats the best way to go about reinstalling just deleting the current and then installing again?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Your Airport Express is an Apple router and should work. How old is the Airport Express and what model is it?

    That's what I was wondering also. I just pulled my old AE out of my laptop bag and plugged it in and it does show the channel options. Mine is the last N model FB321LL/A. I wonder if older models don't support channel selection?
     
  9. thebizzle thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #9
    The only model number I could see on the back was A1264, does that help?
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Yes... that is the same model as mine and I have the wireless options when I just tested it.

    I wonder if it is disabled because you are extending the network? Try switching that option back to create a wireless network and see if the options button shows up then. You will need to switch it back after, but at least this will tell you if that is why the option is blocked.
     
  11. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #11
    If you join the existing network with the AE or expand an existing network using the AE you won't get any options for the wireless, because being a slave device, the AE will behave exactly as the master device allows it to and the extended network will have same settings as the original one.
    All Airport Express or Extreme base stations ever made by Apple support manual channel allocation, of course unless they are extending an existing wireless network.
     
  12. RMo macrumors 65816

    RMo

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    #12
    I think that might be it. When I bought my new AEBS, I played with my old one in this fashion for a bit, and the options were limited. I think this might have been one.
     

Share This Page