Air 11" Question - Only surfing, some office and limited MainStage use - how much RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by berndkiltz, Nov 10, 2014.

?

Will MainStage work flawlessly with 4Gig of ram? Only realtime Processing no Samples

  1. I think it will work fine with 4GB

    18 vote(s)
    85.7%
  2. You REALLY need 8GB

    3 vote(s)
    14.3%
  1. berndkiltz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    Pfalz, Germany
    #1
    Hey Everybody, I know there are a TON of threads about 4GB or 8GB of Ram, BUT - I have just 2 usages for the air I want to know if it works... without freezing and beachballin all the time.
    I have a shiny new iMac Retina shipping to me, so the air is just my on-the-road and couch machine for:

    - Surfing, Pages, email from the Couch or on the road (which i know 4GB are enough)

    - Apple MainStage. I will NOT use any Samples, just realtime processing of my Guitar with Apple Floorboard stuff and a Third Party Plugin (BIAS or Guitar Rig) and process my Voice with a little compressor at the same time. I can do 3 Times that on my actual 13" Macbook Pro Late 2011.

    I don't care about multitasking a lot with the sweet little thing. I don't mind closing all other apps when using MainStage. So what do you think?

    Will the BASELINE Air 11" handle that? Or do I REALLY need to upgrade ram / SSD?

    The Air will really not do anything else, really :)
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    The baseline MBA can easily handle the workload you described with 4GB of RAM.
     
  3. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #3
    Nur dafür brauchst du keine 8gb. Ich würde abwarten was Saturn und Medimarkt an black friday deals anbieten. MediaMarkt hatte vor ein paar Monaten den 19% Mwst rabatt. Da kriegt man das baseline 11" nachgeschmissen!

    Viel Spaß damit! :)

    ----------

    In short, no 8gb needed.
     
  4. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #4
    Deutschland hat jetzt Black Friday? ... Thanksgiving auch? LOL :)
     
  5. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #5
    Yes, last year they had hblack friday sales all over the place.
     
  6. berndkiltz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    Pfalz, Germany
  7. djfirth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #7
    Honestly, I've not ever had a problem with any of my Macs running 4G of RAM. My wife's several year old MB is running Mavericks fine with 4G. I did load up my 2012 MBA with 8G to help with video processing, but I expect that I didn't really need the extra RAM.
     
  8. richfromroch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    I have a Sept/2013 13-inch MBA with 8GB. Activity monitor says I'm using 4.41 of the 8 with Safari, Mail, Pages and, of course, Yosemite running. Not sure how accurate or informational this is, but why skimp? The 8GB option is 100 bucks and if that breaks the bank, maybe you should wait on this purchase. Oh, my main box is a mid-2011 Mac Mini 2.5 GHZ I-5 with 16GB of RAM and a 256GB Crucial MX100...very snappy machine with Yosemite.

    Rich
    Rochester, NY
     
  9. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #9
    OS X will try to use all available memory. Just because you're using ~5 out of 8GB doesn't mean things wouldn't run just as well with 4GB.
     
  10. richfromroch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #10
    Yes, probably true. But I'd rather spend a hundred bucks than take any chances that Apple will keep future OS and APPs running nice and tidy in 4 gigs. I see it as an investment, not a waste of money. But, hey, I already spent the hundred bucks on my 2013 MBA and a good investment it was.

    Rich
     
  11. Scepticalscribe Contributor

    Scepticalscribe

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    The Far Horizon
    #11
    To be perfectly honest, for the purposes which you have stated in your OP, you do not need 8 GB RAM. As others have already said, 4 GB RAM will be more than perfectly adequate for your needs.

    However, should the cost of upgrading be relatively pain free - in other words, if cost is not the deciding factor in coming to a decision, 8 GB RAM is very nice, because - while it may not add a huge amount tot he value of the machine should you wish to sell it in the future, it will undoubtedly serve to 'future proof' it to a somewhat greater extent.
     
  12. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #12
    While more memory is never a bad thing, the future proving argument can be applied to every spec.
    It looks like in the future the bottleneck might be more the gpu.

    Get what need now and enjoy :)
     
  13. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #13
  14. flur macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #14
    The rub is that memory can't be updated later, so if you buy too little, there's not much you can do.
     
  15. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #15
    You could say that about any of the possible upgrades, so might as well get all of them, right?

    If you need more RAM later you can sell the computer and buy a different one. The market for used Apple kit is very active.
     
  16. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #16
    Same goes for pretty every other part of your macbook.
     
  17. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #17
    Jinx.
     
  18. flur macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    #18
    Last I checked, you could upgrade your hard drive later. Has that changed?
     
  19. motrek macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #19
    The drive isn't soldered on but it's tough to find new/bigger ones.
     
  20. macnewbieee, Nov 22, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2014

    macnewbieee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    #20
    as a secondary machine with only office and surfiing, 4gig will do the job well.
     
  21. stempsons macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    #21
    i have '13 rmbp with 16gigs of ram, and a '14 mba with 8gigs. both feel equally fast with a decent amount of programs running. my wife has a '14 mba with 4gigs and it does get the beachball when working with several programs at the same time. the interesting thing (as already stated) is that OS X will use as much memory as it can. if you have 16gigs, over time you'll notice that the operating system will try to utilize whatever is available. i'm very impressed with this operating system for that reason, unused memory is wasted memory..
     

Share This Page