Air and VM

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by basher, Aug 21, 2011.

  1. basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #1
    Since the top of the line Air has 4GB, is that enough to run Windows 7 via Parallels or Fusion? Anyone care to share their first hand VM experiences when using an Air?
     
  2. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #2
    There are lots of threads about it here and in the Windows on Mac forum. I run Win 7 in Parallels and it runs just fine.
     
  3. New2MacOS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #3
    I have the i5 11.6/4/128, and Windows 7 on Parallels works like a charm.
     
  4. P0stalTek macrumors 6502

    P0stalTek

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #4
    I have the base 2011 13". Windows 7 Ultimate runs wonderfully via Parallels. Coherence mode or normal mode. :apple:
     
  5. ipaclansite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    #5
    I have the i7 4GB, using VirtualBox (free) works great booting Windows 7 from the Boot Camp partition, takes a bit of steps to get it to work, but it works pretty well. I also have Parallels, which also boots from the Boot Camp partition, which works great too.

    Just make sure when you suspend or save states on these VM programs, dont actually Boot natively into Windows, it appears to screw up the Windows Volume, and it ended up running chkdsk. No problems were found, but just a caution.
     
  6. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #6
    This is my first Mac and my first experience with VMs. I am very, very impressed with how seamless Parallels makes the whole experience. Performance is also very good. While running my Windows apps (Quicken, DVD Profiler, Escort Radar Detector Updater) I can continue to run my Lion apps with no apparent ill effect. Coherence mode in Parallels is thing of beauty. It makes the Windows apps run as if they were native in Lion.

    Just for giggles I created several other VMs; two for Windows XP, one for Windows 98, one for DOS, and one for Ubuntu. Sorry to say Parallels doesn't support DOS and Windows 98 very well. Dosbox ended up being a better solution for me to run Zork... :cool:
     
  7. P0stalTek macrumors 6502

    P0stalTek

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #7
    Geek! :D

    :apple:
     
  8. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #8
    You know it! :D I won't rest until I play through Kings Quest one more time... :cool:
     
  9. P0stalTek macrumors 6502

    P0stalTek

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #9
    Wow.. King's Quest.. now THAT is old school... like Packard Bell Pentium 60 old... :D
     
  10. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #10
    Zork! I remember that game well. Even the HD 3000 can handle that one. :D

    I have the following operating systems installed on my 11" i7:
    - Lion (obviously)
    - Snow Leopard Server (running in Parallels)
    - Windows 7 Pro 64-bit (Boot Camp with a VM in Parallels)
    - Windows XP (XP Mode within Windows 7).

    XP mode has come in handy as I found an old hard drive the last time I was at my parents'. It was in a USB enclosure (so I had some foresight when I got rid of the computer), and it had some files from an old scanner that I managed to find software for. I'll see if there is anything worthwhile in that old data. I found an even older hard drive (a whopping 512MB), but unfortunately there was nothing readable on it. It would have been interesting had I found some old term papers from high school or college.
     
  11. tigres macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #11
    OP,

    I have been running VMware on my MBA 2009 rev b, and now my 2010 gen.

    Both MBA were very capable, but the 4g ram definitely helps with swaps.
     

Share This Page