Air, travel and ethernet

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by electro1, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. electro1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #1
    I don't know what post I originally saw this, so I am not taking credit. I just came back from a business trip. Hotel had in room internet, but not wireless. I had my airport express and 1.2.3. had wireless in the room, no need to carry the USB ethernet wire. I never would have thought of this if I didn't see the original post. Thank you to whoever.

    B.
     
  2. Jayrod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    I hadn't even thought about that - great advice! With the express base station, you will never be without wireless. The MBA has just earned more points on my "must buy it now" scale. Great post.
     
  3. bence8810 macrumors member

    bence8810

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #3
    Well, you could do this with any laptop, not only Apple's laptops, so the point doesn't really go to MBA. As far as I see, it can do regular WEP / WPA(2) so you can hook to it whatever you need.

    I have purchased the Ethernet adapter for my MBA for corporate environments, whete putting up another Wireless network only for my MBA would be unacceptable.

    As I don't have the Airport Express, how easy is it to configure? I have an Airport Extreme Base Station, is it somewhat similar?

    Let's say if I configure the Extreme at home and then I just carry it with me, I can plug it in anywhere, hook up a LAN to it, and have my well-trusted WiFi network with me?

    This could be very useful in hotels like you said, and other non-secure locations,

    Thanks for the tip,

    Ben

    p.s. This could be very useful for the iPhone, as when I travel and roam, Data is very expensive, and I could use WiFi even if I have only LAN at my access.
     
  4. twynne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I'm interested in this as well as I travel frequently. Do you just connect up the Airport Express (via ethernet cable) to the ethernet in the hotel room? I assume the resulting wireless connection is unsecured until you connect and secure it? Or if not how do you go about configuring it??

    Cheers,

    Tom
     
  5. Munich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #5
    3Com Router

    I have a pocket 3Com router, which they no longer manufacture, but this one below should do the trick, I always carry with me, and I can get wireless in any hotel room. Very small, very easy to carry on your backpack. Have been doing it for years, before that I used to carry a 15 yards ethernet cable.:eek:

    http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=346
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Express

    Apple advertised this as part of the features of the express. It's very easily to tote around and setting up is pretty darn simple.
     
  7. bence8810 macrumors member

    bence8810

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    I am almost sold on that product. I like it because it comes with no wires, no adapters, its everything in that one box you plug directly to power.

    I am not interested in the iTunes streaming, I would just use it in hotels, etc.

    Before I buy though, I would like to ask a few questions.

    Is this a router as well or just an AP? I guess its an AP, as the LAN cable in hotels usually already serve up private IPs, and not public, so no need for routing.

    You confirgure it through Airport Utility, and you just take it with you wherever, plug it in, gets the IP via DHCP and passes it over to your laptop or iPhone? In that case, I can only connect one item at a time?

    I have the iPhone and the MBA I need access to.

    Thanks

    Ben
     
  8. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    It can be either one.

    I bought an Airport Express for this same purpose but have yet to find a hotel that has high speed internet access but not wireless. I didn't even think there were any of those around anymore...
     
  9. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Agreed, either one, you just need to turn on bridging or DHCP.

    I've been to a lot of hotels with free wired access in the rooms, and free wireless in the lobby and/or paid wireless in the rooms.

    Would be nice to have options.
     
  10. bence8810 macrumors member

    bence8810

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    Thanks,

    I also go to hotels where there is Wired access for free, mostly around Eastern EU. While internet is a common comodity here, hotels often sign up with large carriers to set up HotSpots for subscribers of the given carrier, etc. These are pay services, so I often stick to the wire.

    I am glad it can be used both ways, Router and AP.

    Apple can consider me sold on the product, thanks for the help,

    Ben
     
  11. elo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    #11
    I always travel with my Airport Express and have needed it for wireless in two different fairly high-end hotels in just the last two weeks. For those who haven't used it, you only configure once -- it remembers your information while unplugged. So you just plug it in at the hotel room, plug in their ethernet cable, and you're good to go. If you previously set up security, that will be working immediately.
     
  12. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #12
    This feature I absolutely LOVE.

    At home, my Express is part of a WDS network (where it rebroadcasts the signal from another Extreme). It wasn't horribly difficult to setup, but it was a little tricky. I have that saved as "Home / WDS" profile.

    When I travel, I simply switch to another profile. I don't have to blow away the settings and stuff that work so perfectly at my house. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. electro1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #13
    Let me share the rest of my latest trip with my new Air. So I'm in my hotel room with the Airport express working like a dream (I find a 50/50 chance of wireless internet in rooms), my family is back home eating dinner. I had just also picked up a new Imac for the kitchen replacing the prior Imac. Now, both the Air and Imac have the built-in cameras. Turn on Ichat, works in 2 seconds, now I'm sitting in my room in Chicago eating dinner watching my family in NJ eat dinner. It doesn't get any better then this. Next morning I'm doing a trade show, talking to clients holding the Air in 1 hand, up to them, so they can see our software working up close. This computer is so light it becomes an extension of your hand. Pack up get ready to go to airport realise Continental has no TV's, (usually fly Jet-Blue), download a movie from Itunes, (Allow for long download times), and watch it on the Air that fits perfectly on the seatback tray. Also very easy to get in and out of my bag which is under the seat. The only thing that I couldn't fit on the Air was my Itue music collection, so I carry my Ipod and after yesterday's annoucement of the Iphone and push email, calendar and contacts, I will be replacing my Ipod and Blackberry with a Iphone. As a business traveler, Apple is now a serious contender for major market share.
    B.
     
  14. bence8810 macrumors member

    bence8810

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #14

    That is so nice to hear, I myself use Apple since last october for everything.

    I am an IT manager, travelling a lot among our offices, and we are on Windows only networks, with only some linux servers I successfully squeezed by the management.

    Since Mac has the Remote Desktop for Microsoft, and since IPSecuritas connects like a charm (after days of trial and error) to our corporate firewalls, I am good to go with OS X, and I dont even have Windows installed either on Bootcamp or VMware.

    Interesting thing you say about the iPhone. I never had a blackberry, I had windows smartphones, but just as soon as the iPhone hit the shelves in the US, I had mine ordered. I gave up on Activesync, and now I am forwarding my emails to another server from which I pull via IMAP. For calendars, and contacts, I just have to sync to my MacBook (soon MBA when it gets here).

    Since Activesync is licensed for the iPhone and coming this summer, I have the great joy of getting Calendar and Contacts pushed to me realtime too, which even elevates the joy further above.

    Nice to hear there are others making Apple part of their worklife.

    Cheers

    Ben
     
  15. bence8810 macrumors member

    bence8810

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    Just what I needed to know, thanks.

    Ben
     
  16. jlanuez macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Been using this for over a year.

    Ditto - we set it up one time at the studio, now just plug it into the hotel ethernet and power (usually the plug in the base of the lamp on the hotelroom desk!). And we are on instantly, with no set-up. :)
     
  17. applestew macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #17
    Not only that...

    U get Wifi to ur MBA, U get Wifi to ur iphone, U get airtunes to the hotel TV speakers....

    YEAH!

    Now I can SSH into my iphone whilst on trips. GEEK!
     
  18. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #18
    OK, so how do you configure things? I have an Airport Express which I used to use for sharing my printer but since I now have another way to do that I am interested in using the Airport Express for hotel room wireless..... I seem to have lost the instructions which came with the Airport Express so would appreciate some quick guidance -- thanks!!
     
  19. rom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    #19
    How'd you get the other profiles to show?
     
  20. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #20
    In the Airport Utility program, connect to your Airport, then click (on the top menu bar) Base Stations > Manage Profiles
     
  21. mhaas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #21
    great story....

    ...I read it and thought about you frequent flyers ;)

    ************************************

    Steve Jobs Made Me Miss My Flight
    March 06, 2008
    Or: On my way to San Jose.

    On waking, I reach for my blackberry. It tells me what city I'm in; the hotel rooms offer no clues. Every Courtyard by Marriott is interchangeable. Many doors into the same house. From the size of my suitcase, I can recall the length of my stay: one or two days, the small bag. Three or four, the large. Two bags means more than a week.

    CNBC, shower, coffee, email. Quick breakfast, $10.95 (except in California, where it's $12.95. Another clue.)

    Getting there is the worst part. Flying is an endless accumulation of indignities. Airlines learned their human factors from hospitals. I've adapted my routine to minimize hassles.

    Park in the same level of the same ramp. Check in at the less-used kiosks in the transit level. Check my bag so I don't have to **** around with the overhead bins. I'd rather dawdle at the carousel than drag the thing around the terminal anyway.

    Always the frequent flyer line at the security checkpoint. Sometimes there's an airline person at the entrance of that line to check my boarding pass, sometimes not. An irritation. I'd rather it was always, or never. Sometimes means I don't know if I need my boarding pass out or not.

    Same words to the TSA agent. Standard responses. "Doing fine," whether I am or not. Same belt. It's gone through the metal detector every time. I don't need to take it off.

    Only... today, something is different. Instead of my bags trundling through the x-ray machine, she stops the belt. Calls over another agent, a palaver. Another agent flocks to the screen. A gabble, a conference, some consternation.

    They pull my laptop, my new laptop making its first trip with me, out of the flow of bags. One takes me aside to a partitioned cubicle. Another of the endless supply of TSA agents takes the rest of my bags to a different cubicle. No yellow brick road here, just a pair of yellow painted feet on the floor, and my flight is boarding. I am made to understand that I should stand and wait. My laptop is on the table in front of me, just beyond reach, like I am waiting to collect my personal effects after being paroled.

    I'm standing, watching my laptop on the table, listening to security clucking just behind me. "There's no drive," one says. "And no ports on the back. It has a couple of lines where the drive should be," she continues.

    A younger agent, joins the crew. I must now be occupying ten, perhaps twenty, percent of the security force. At this checkpoint anyway. There are three score more at the other five checkpoints. The new arrival looks at the printouts from x-ray, looks at my laptop sitting small and alone. He tells the others that it is a real laptop, not a "device". That it has a solid-state drive instead of a hard disc. They don't know what he means. He tries again, "Instead of a spinning disc, it keeps everything in flash memory." Still no good. "Like the memory card in a digital camera." He points to the x-ray, "Here. That's what it uses instead of a hard drive."

    The senior agent hasn't been trained for technological change. New products on the market? They haven't been TSA approved. Probably shouldn't be permitted. He requires me to open the "device" and run a program. I do, and despite his inclination, the lead agent decides to release me and my troublesome laptop. My flight is long gone now, so I head for the service center to get rebooked.

    Behind me, I hear the younger agent, perhaps not realizing that even the TSA must obey TSA rules, repeating himself.

    "It's a MacBook Air."

    **********************************************

    http://www.michaelnygard.com/blog/2008/03/steve_jobs_made_me_miss_my_fli.html
     
  22. rom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    #22
    Got it, thanks! Now have 4 profiles ready. :D
     
  23. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #23
    What a great story! I'm taking my first plane trip this weekend out of Oakland International flying into Ontario International in Southern California with my MBA, so I wonder if they are MBA trained? :eek:
     
  24. macanudo macrumors regular

    macanudo

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #24
    It is so nice to hear folks give their real world experiences/feedback on uses of the MBA. I travel very frequently and am traveling with it for the first time on a plane later on this week...so I hope to have some good feedback to give back to you guys. I miss the muscle of my old MBP, but the weight savings of the MBA was the dealbreaker for me.
     

Share This Page