Air Video and content on a NAS

Discussion in 'iPad' started by greezychicken, May 1, 2010.

  1. greezychicken macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    #1
    I have all of my video content on an Airport Extreme Airdisk. Can I stream video via Air Video from my Macbook Pro if all the content is stored on the Airdisk. Is anyone doing this and is there any performance loss in terms of video playback?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Travisimo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #2
    I don't know about your particular setup, but I have a 27 inch iMac with an attached Seagate BlackArmor NAS via Ethernet and it works great with Air Video. I am in the process of converting my entire DVD collection to the NAS. I have over 100 so far and have had no problems playing them over WIFI or 3G on my iPad using Air Video.
     
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    My content is on a NAS and there aren't any issues but I dint want to have to keep a computer on just to watch a movie. I just wish I could stream from my nas without having a machine on like I do using ezfiles on my iPhone.
     
  4. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #4
    Yes, any videos stored elsewhere should work as long as AirVideo server is running and can see those sources. The problem is if you're using live conversion, it might take a while to work since it has to stream the data from the way back to the airdisk to the macbook so that it can convert it on the fly and than to the iPad. Huge videos will slow down and sometime takes forever to start.
     
  5. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #5
    The problem is that for transcoding, AirVideo's author recommends at least a 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo processor.

    Not many NAS enclosures have a CPU anywhere near this power.
     
  6. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #6
    That's not the only problem, the other problem is the OS on that NAS. Many NAS devices do not allow you to install software like AirVideo server on it, they also comes with a low RAM size, so running many servers wouldn't work well either.
     
  7. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #7
    If stored on the NAS, wouldn't the pc not do the conversion still?
     
  8. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #8
    Maybe my setup is different then. My NAS is connected to my Win 7 pc and the server software is running on the pc. Seems to work just fine.
     
  9. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #9
    We're talking about NAS, not SAN. NAS are storage devices that do not require a PC to be turned on, they are connected to the network, not PCs. SAN are storage devices directly connected to a PC and requires it to be turned on.

    Note: Yes, with a NAS you can still do live conversion but only with the AirVideo server and PC turned on.
     
  10. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #10
    The posts above were discussing running AirVideo server on the NAS, so you don't need your PC switched on all the time.

    Looks like MikhailT got there first!
     
  11. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #11
    I know the difference and have a Synology TS-209 NAS. My NAS is connected to my router as is the PC. My vids are on the NAS and the server software is on the pc.
     
  12. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #12
    Ok, that wasn't really specified. I'll shut up now :)
     
  13. LadyHoneyBabe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
  14. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #14
    NASs will work through a PC since you need to have AirVideo server running. The only way NASs can work if AirVideo server can be installed and running on the NAS itself.
     
  15. Spyderturbo007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #15
    I have the exact same setup with the DS-209 and it works great. I wish the Synology would allow me to load the AirVideo server on the disk station itself, so I didn't have to keep the PC on all the time.
     

Share This Page