All iPads Air vs Mini Retina - RAM

Discussion in 'iPad' started by preyan, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. preyan macrumors 6502

    preyan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    South Africa
    #1
    Unless I missed it but is there confirmation of the RAM in each? :confused:
     
  2. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #2
    Wondering the same.
     
  3. mpayne2k macrumors 6502a

    mpayne2k

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
  4. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    It's likely the same thing in the iPhone 5S so my guess is 1gb. Apple has never been generous with RAM.
     
  5. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #5
    But are they same between both the Air and mini? I'm hoping so for the mini's sake I mean.
     
  6. Charliebird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #6
    Of course they'll be the same. Same Proc, same retina screen resolution, same memory.
     
  7. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    We don't know if they're the same yet. At all. We know it's an A7 chip, in the same way that most computers come with Intel i5 chips. But there's a lot of clock speed differences between those i5 chips. Time will tell.
     
  8. herdnerfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint louis, MO
    #8
    The A7 is more than a CPU though, it is a SoC, a complete system on a chip, the CPU, GPU & RAM are all built into it. There is no way one A7s RAM is going to be a different amount from anothers without some additional moniker added to it.
     
  9. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    Who said RAM? I expect it to be the same amount of RAM. Clock speed is still up in the air.
     
  10. herdnerfer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Saint louis, MO
    #10
    you are right, i read that wrong, my bad.
     
  11. RobertoG macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    #11
    Usually a SOC would integrate CPU, GPU and some generic peripherals in the die, but leave the RAM out for PoP mounting, the flash on another place on the PCB, same as other technologies such as radios, DACs and Power mgmt.
     
  12. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #12
    No worries. I hope the reviews are out soon and clears it all up. :)
     
  13. zombierunner macrumors 6502a

    zombierunner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    England is my city
    #13
    1gb in both
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cdmoore74 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #14
    ^^^This but why? If your using the same A7 chip why complicate with different ram amounts and speed? If there was a clear advantage wouldn't Apple had made that clear?
     
  15. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #15
    Probably, but they might have been too busy telling us how magical everything is.
     
  16. Charliebird macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #16
    Correct me if I'm wrong but only the ipad 3 and 4 had special 'x' variant processor. Maybe the A7 processor with the next gen GPU's has the horse power necessary to power the iPad Retina screen. iPad's will always be a device of compromise between power, size, and battery life. If you don't like it than buy a desktop computer. Of course apple did this to themselves touting the quad core graphics on the iPad 3 and 4's.
     

Share This Page