aircrack-ng 1.0 on Snow Leopard?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Shadow%20Mac, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. Shadow%20Mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Carbon Copy:
    Quote from: harleyb
    Obviously, you need Xcode installed. However, you don't need gmake or sqlite like aircrack-ng's guide says.
    Open Terminal, run:
    Code:
    svn co http://trac.aircrack-ng.org/svn/trunk/ aircrack-ng

    Now, you need to edit common.mak to build for a 32-bit architecture using 10.5 headers, and have it use gcc-4.0 instead of 4.2.

    Find this line:
    Code:
    CC = $(TOOL_PREFIX)gcc
    and replace with:
    Code:
    CC = $(TOOL_PREFIX)gcc-4.0

    Then find this line:
    Code:
    CFLAGS ?= -g -W -Wall -Werror -O3 -Wno-strict-aliasing
    and replace with:
    Code:
    CFLAGS ?= -g -W -Wall -Werror -O3 -Wno-strict-aliasing -arch i386 -isysroot /Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.5.sdk

    Go back to Terminal and:
    Code:
    cd aircrack-ng
    make
    sudo make install

    Look at the make install output to find out where stuff got placed; the tools you'll likely use are in /usr/local/bin/

    Hope this helps somebody!






    That was a copy of the method I am using. However I keep getting the error attached below. Any ideas anyone?

    This error comes after I've:
    Downloader aircrack-ng from terminal
    modified the files
    ran the cd command
    and the make command
    NOT the sudo command.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Ok, I will man up and say... I have no idea what in the world you are talking about here
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    So what exactly are you asking for? Sorry, but you're post makes no sense
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    The OP is asking for help building a wireless network cracking tool.
    Discussion of how to break into wireless networks doesn;t belong on these forums.

    reported.
     
  5. Detektiv-Pinky macrumors 6502a

    Detektiv-Pinky

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #5
    Don't be so quick. Aircrack-ng is a tool and he is simply trying to install it.
    Yes, it is something that could be used to crack a weak encryption key to gain access to a badly secured network, but can also be part of a security audit to prove that your network is secured correctly.

    I have a lot of such tools on my Mac, including Ping, Traceroute, Nessus, Cryptool and a lot more...

    OP: it seems to be a common problem try to google for 'lcrt1.10.6.o'. It seems reinstalling of Xcode helps sometimes.
     
  6. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #6
    I don't recall him ever asking for help on how to break into wireless networks :confused:

    :rolleyes:
     
  7. Shadow%20Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    1.) I am merely asking for help on installing the program.

    2.) I have NO INTENTION OF HACK OR STEALING AN INTERNET CONNECTION. I pay over $200/month to get a 12 down fiber connection to my house. I have no need to get on someone else's network. I merely need this program, because, for some reason, my WiFi network is not accepting the password that my tech guy wrote down on the sheet. Once I get back on MY OWN NETWORK, which I'M PAYING FOR, i will change the password, and be on with life.

    3.) This is no more illegal that all the other form of iPhone tethering hacks and such that take place on this forum. If anything, stealing a tethering connection is more illegal than what i'm doing.
     
  8. Detektiv-Pinky macrumors 6502a

    Detektiv-Pinky

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #8
    Mind you Aircrack-ng can only work if your wireless is using WEP or WPA-PSK encryption. If you are running WPA2 (which I truly recommend to anybody), you are out of luck with this tool.

    What do you see if you do a locate crt1. in Terminal?
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Why not just reset the router, that should reset the password to the factory default?
     
  10. Shadow%20Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #10
    My router is software based, not firmware based. That won't help. And I have WEP protection, btw, not WPA2.
     
  11. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    If this was actually the case

    a) He would have his company's tech support solve this problem, or
    b) They would use a better tool, or
    c) They'd be using a windows machine.
     
  12. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #12
    kisMac, a kismet clone does the same job, and doesn't need compiling
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    If that's the case, I highly recommend you contact your tech guy and have him look at it. I also highly recommend that you don't use WEP based security, it is rather weak after all.

    Also, not knowing your infrastructure, but getting a regular firmware based router may be a good move as well.
     
  14. Shadow%20Mac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #14

    I managed to solve my problem by using some software discs that shipped with the router. Thank you all for your help!
     

Share This Page