Airdrop not showing computers

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Mork, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. Mork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #1
    I enabled Airdrop on the mac, but in ios7 on a new iPhone 5s nothing shows up in the "Airdrop" sharing area.

    There seems to be lots of posts on this, but I'm baffled why it doesn't just "work". I am connected via Wifi to my network and we can hook up two macs that 'see' each other.

    How to fix this with ios so it sees airplay?

    Thanks,
    m
     
  2. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Airdrop for iOS 7 currently only supports Airdrop between iOS devices, not between iOS and Mac.
     
  3. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #3
    Airdrop on iPhone and Airdrop on OSX are not compatible.

    At the hardware level there are differences in technology, even though the name and user experience is simliar.
     
  4. Mork, Feb 3, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014

    Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #4
    *** Update:

    With two iOS 7 iPhones both connected to WiFi, nothing happens on the other iPhone if I go into a Picture and try to share. AirDrop still does not show the other iPhone.

    The message on the iPhone is to go into Control Center and enable AirDrop, but AirDrop is not listed in Control center. There is to enable "in app" stuff and another one. They're both "Green" (on) on both phones.

    Confused why this still isn't working with two iOS 7 devices two feet apart.

    thanks
     
  5. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Both devices must be iPhone 5 or later.
     
  6. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    Bluetooth AND Wifi need to be on for Airdrop to work

    Both devices do NOT need to connected to a Wifi network however.
     
  7. charlituna macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Plus same wifi with Bluetooth on. I bet either one of them isn't currently connected to wifi or the Bluetooth is off.

    ----------

    Yes they do need to be on an actual network. And the same one. That's how the transfer happens. Bluetooth is just used to mark the 'local' area and pick possible connections.
     
  8. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #8
    They do not need to be on the same network.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht5887
     

Share This Page