AirMac Extreme 802.11n 5Ghz @ 300Mbit/s ??

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by UltraNEO*, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #1
    Hiya People, got myself a new add-on today.

    Just curious, how I enable the 5Ghz option? I'm in Japan by-the-way and as far as I know there are no restrictions here.

    I've gotten the APE to work just fine however checking my link in Network Utility, it only states I'm connected at 130Mbit/s. When I use the Buffalo router I can see it at 300Mbit/s. What's wrong?

    :confused:
     
  2. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    I'm having the same problem. Apparently there are restrictions on 5GHz band usage which apply to Apple exclusively, as the other manufacturers (for example Buffalo, as you stated) are selling 300Mbps draft-n products here, no problem.

    Any luck getting your AEBS fixed?
     
  3. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
  4. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    Thanks, Gordy. But the problem is, there is only one country listed in the drop-down list: Japan. So that method doesn't work.
     
  5. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    AirPort Extreme
     
  6. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    No, it's AirMac in Japan. Another company (IO Data, IIRC) owns the rights to "AirPort" ... ;)
     
  7. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #7
    Damn that's annoying. Maybe they do a custom version for japan.
     
  8. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    That's the thing - I think the hardware is exactly the same; the limitations seem to be firmware based.

    I could always just buy an AEBS from the States, but then I don't even know if it would work at 300Mbps with my Japanese-purchased AppleTV, which is the only device I'm really concerned about anyway. :rolleyes:
     
  9. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #9
    If you could somehow get the worldwide firmware for it, that would be the best solution. However I doubt it's available to just anyone.

    I know the UK version is the same as the us just different in the default settings. Which can all be changed with the drop down. Maybe shipping a 5ghz capable device is illegal in japan so Apple had to do a special version of the firmware for that market.
     
  10. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    Actually, when the draft-N AEBS was launched, it WAS illegal. But since then (June 2007, to be precise) the Japanese gov't passed a Radio Reform law, making it ok to use wide channels. The new draft-N AirPort Express (launched after the law change) is sold locally with 300Mbps ability, however the AEBS is not.

    The more I look into this, the more it seems to just be a matter of laziness/stupidity on Apple's part. :mad:
     
  11. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    Any ideas, anyone? I just got off the phone with Apple and was basically told I'd have to wait for a new AEBS to be released. In other words, I've just thrown away $200 ... :mad:

    Surely there must be some way to get this POS to work properly?
     
  12. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3G (white): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    Sorry for the bump, but I'm still looking for a solution to this. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  13. applevx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #13
    Me too, I got AirMac Extreme N (Japanese Edition) in 2008. But still could only have 130 Mbps max speed.


    I am very interested to see anyone can fix this problem.


    Thanks in advanced.


    P.S. I am living Ireland now. ( AirMac just has one country can be set, which is Japan! ) :(
     

Share This Page