Airplay disappeared

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by helveta, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. helveta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #1
    I've been using a TV connected to ATV2 to show presentations in my office via airplay from my Mac. The ATV2 is on a wireless network using a express router and the mac is connected to the same network on the same router.

    I see today that the airplay option is not showing up on the mac. The airplay is turned on on the ATV2 but the mac isn't seeing it. ATV2 has most recent update but mac is still on mountain lion.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    I've never used Airplay from my mac but the same thing happens routinely with my iPhone and iPad (I have 2 ATVs and they both disappear). On those I do a reset of the iPhone or iPad and the Airplay option comes back, but I don't know what you would do in this case.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    Restart the Apple TV and the Airport Express.
     
  4. helveta thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #4
    OK, I've restarted the apple tv and unplugged both the apple tv and the airport express, and rebooted the mac. Still no connection. I've confirmed that both the apple tv and the mac are on the wireless network.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  5. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    Do you have an iPhone or iPad? Could you use those to check if they saw Apple TV?
     
  6. helveta thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #6

    Great idea. Yeah, the iPhone can mirror to the apple tv. But not the mac's display setting for AirPlay Mirroring it says No Devices Detected.
     
  7. helveta thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #7
    Just to complete this, I called Applecare and spent almost three hours on the phone with them. The culprit turned out to be a setting in McAfee's firewall. All works fine now.

    This is the first time I've used applecare and I think I got my money's worth.
     
  8. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #8
    You should bookmark the Apple Support document Well known TCP and UDP ports used by Apple software products.
     
  9. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #9
    Well, who would have thought...
     
  10. wedontneedroads macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #10
    This is a helpful link. Thanks. Is there a simple way to determine which other software might be blocking ports used by Airplay? Mine too has disappeared, and all software on the Macs, Apple TVs are up to date, and a restart of all routers and systems hasn't changed things. I don't have McAfee but maybe some other software is blocking a needed port.
     

Share This Page