Airplay from Mac to ATV Experience

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by d21mike, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #1
    Last night I wanted to see the new Last Resort Pilot on my AppleTV via Hulu+ but could not find it. Went to my computer and it said Web Only. So for the first time I used Airplay on my Mac to play it. It worked very well (a bit surprised). The only problem was the menu bar on the top showed up once and I had to get rid of it and having to walk into the other room was a bit of a hassle but it worked. Maybe someday this Web Only situation will end.
     
  2. macUser2007 macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    #2
    AirPlay works fine for me, but mirroring high-bitrate video doesn't.

    Trying to stream moderately high-bitrate video from Safari on a 2012 custom built optioned out Mac Book Air (2GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 512 GB) results in constant buffering on my Apple TV 3, with audio sync issues and often a frozen video frame with audio playing).
     
  3. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #3
    The ATV3 MUST be wired to the router to avoid buffering. I've benchmarked its Wi-Fi unit and found out that it's way worse than that of even the iPad 3.
     
  4. Mrbobb, Sep 22, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2012

    Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #4
    Now u folks doing this stuff, you realize that...

    U viewing something form the Internet: Router -> Macbook [WIFI useage#1]

    U stream Macbook -> Router [WIFI usage#2]

    Then Router streams to ATV [WIFI usage#3]

    Every one of those usage use up a little of the available WIFI bandwidth.

    Now usage#2 cannot be avoid it. Usage#1, if you can PRE-Load whatever you are viewing from the Internet, probly unavoidable too. But Usage#3 can be cut entirely if you hook up a CAT5 cable between router and ATV and I certainly recommend doing that.
     
  5. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #5
    Yup, theoretically, it should use little bandwidth. However, even that (comparatively) low traffic makes the ATV3 buffer for VERY long. Its Wi-Fi unit seems to be pretty much messed up...
     
  6. d21mike thread starter macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #6
    All of my fixed location devices are hardwired (ATV's and Mac Desktop). Only my iPhone's and iPad's are WiFi.
     

Share This Page