Airplay in OSX mountain lion

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by himanshuvohra, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. himanshuvohra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #1
    Hey friends, was just curious will it be possible to connect my macbook pro( on osx mountain lion) to my apply tv....because that is the only feature i was looking forward to.
     
  2. jabbawok macrumors regular

    jabbawok

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #2
    That's the idea. You can mirror your MacBook's desktop to a TV screen with an Apple TV 2 or 3. I think apple have limited support to newer MacBooks. I haven't an Apple TV and I'm only running 10.8 on my MacPro, not my MacBook Air, so I cant test the theory.
     
  3. bogatyr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #3
    Because it mirrors the screen, if your laptop doesn't display a 16:9 resolution, it won't fill the TV correctly (assuming a 16:9 TV). To me, this makes it worthless - using a MBA 13", the picture has black bars all around it and if I adjust the TV to fill at least part of the screen the image quality is shot.

    This is just my experience so far. Hopefully at release you can just output to the TV or use it as a second monitor with the native TV resolution.
     
  4. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #4
    My question is whether there are separate system requirements for AirPlay in 10.8 that are separate from the general system requirements? I recall a feature like AirPlay on Windows laptops in the past and it required specific Intel processors. I have a 2010 13" MBP with a C2D processor.
     
  5. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #5
    Yes, you need a 2011 Mac or later - basically an i3, 5 ,or 7.
     
  6. MiamiBourne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #6
    I did read that it's 2011 Mac's or later but the i5 is in the mid 2010 15" Macbook Pro...I know since that's the one I have (http://support.apple.com/kb/SP582).

    So I wonder what's keeping these from being able to use the Airplay Mirroring. This was one of the features I was excited to use...
     
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    It's a hardware thing that's not part of the older core 2 duo. Needs the newer chipset.
     
  8. Dodgeroo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #8
    And yet Air Parrot manages on a Core 2 Duo. But then they aren't trying to sell new hardware.
     
  9. swingerofbirch macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    The Amalgamated States of Central North America
    #9
    Argg, that was that feature I was looking forward to, and I couldn't find any references stating it wouldn't work, but I had a hunch. My current generation iPod touch won't Airplay mirror with my AppleTV, either.
     
  10. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #10
    Whaaaat??? This I did not know. Sad Face...

    Now I really do have a decision to make...
     
  11. ronaldr32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #11
    Can i airplay just a certain window i have up? Ie; Airplay a video in the background and still be using safari?
     
  12. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #12
    AirPlay requires a GPU with a Quick Sync hardware unit. AirPlay uses this unit to decode and encode the video in realtime.
     
  13. pdjudd, Jun 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012

    pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #13
    That can be done on an app by app basis (assuming the developer supports it) and isn’t dependent on ML - the function that ML offers is wireless display mirroring. It’s not just airplay via an app.

    The Apple TV already streams anything in iTunes so you have that. Other programs should be able to do airplay on their own. The system support is a specific feature for the desktop.
     
  14. MiamiBourne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #14
  15. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #15
    I imagine Air Parrot is also using a completely different method than what Apple is using that doesn't exploit hardware that Apple stopped selling when they were developing this feature.
     
  16. diandi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #16
    Airplay & Mac Pro

    In the tech spec of Mountain Lion on Apple's website (http://www.apple.com/osx/specs/), the airplay compatible computers listed do not include any Mac Pro models. Anyone knows if this is just a stupid mistake on Apple's part or if it is indeed the case (I will be shocked if it is). Thanks.
     
  17. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #17
    No, its based on a specific series of intel processors, none of which is part of the Xeon processors used on even the last Mac Pro.
     
  18. diandi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #18
    Thanks. That is too bad. I wonder why Apple could not make it compatible with Xeon processors. They even make it work with iPod and iPad.
     
  19. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #19
    It is based on how they implemented it - I think the iPads and iPhones have some sort of hardware that does the same thing.
     
  20. BigDukeSix macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #20
    So, do we think that Airplay will work in the following scenario: I pull up cbs.com on my Mini in order to watch a full episode of NCIS. I turn on Airplay so I can stream it to my Apple TV. I know cbs.com and several other websites will not work on my IOS devices due to the fact they need Flash. But, do you think that will also mean that it won't play to the Apple TV using Airplay? Thx in advance for your thoughts.
     
  21. iThink Apple macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #21
    What about the sound? Can you send the audio if your mirroring a movie?
     
  22. Geo411m macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #22
    Yes, both audio and video play over airplay.
     
  23. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #23
    When you load up CBS.com you load it into the browser. Safari itself is not being mirrored - the whole system is. There is no way that CBS can interfere with things any more than they can control normal display mirroring. Not through the browser.

    The problem you describe is the lack of API’s in certain apps in iOS. Airplay mirroring on iOS is implemented at the App Level. That is not the case for ML
     
  24. shompa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #24
    I love Apple and their innovation. But their execution is very bad with Air mirroring.

    Have installed latest 10.8 on 2 machines. A 2010 17inch Macbook Pro and a 2011 Macbook Air.

    2010 17 inch is no-go. The Air mirroring icon does not show up. I can't mirror my desktop. If I use Itunes and Airplay it work flawless. But the whole idea with mirroring is that I dont have to use Itunes.

    Macbook air: Since the resolution is less then 1920x1080, the TV is only 2/3 filled with picture. This is TYPICAL Apple.

    Just like Ipad2/3 with HDMI/Air mirroring. It does not scale to the TV picture.

    Apple have to fix scaling to TV to make this usefull.

    As for Audio: Only way to get 5.1 audio is to rip the file into a ACC/MP4 file.

    Why Apple.... WHYYYYYYY?
     
  25. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #25
    Well, it scales now.
    A new MacBook Air 11" with the GM mirrors its display to 1920 x 1080 on an Apple TV 3, and scales its own display to the same resolution, i.e. all icons become very small!

    Very cool!
     

Share This Page