Airplay Looks Distorted on One of My Apps

Discussion in 'iPad' started by darkarn, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. darkarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    Hi, I am trying to Airplay my apps from my iPad Pro 2 to an Apple TV 4K. So far all of them are showing up properly except for one. It looks terribly distorted visually. Audio is fine though.

    Any idea how I can fix this?
     
  2. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #2
    Don’t think you can fix it. That app may have not been updated to support Retina display.
     
  3. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Hmm I see, but the app is working on my iPad Pro 2 itself, just the AirPlay output.

    Furthermore, the problem does not recur on an iPhone 5, iPhone 6 and an iPad Air, whether via the Lightning HDMI connector or Apple TV 4K.
     
  4. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #4
    iPhone and iPad apps require different assets and they can’t really be compared as such even when it’s delivered as a single binary.

    iPad Pro has a higher pixel count than the iPad Air if I’m not wrong. And apps needed to have more higher resolution graphics to be displayed properly. I’m guessing the problem is due to sampling issues.
     
  5. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    I see, there's that possibility. :(

    But then, why would the output look as though it is a landscape app being forced into a portrait view? Furthermore, the output did look correct for a brief moment whenever I switch in and out of that app. I am starting to wonder if the problem arose from simply from the app not being able to recognize the iPad Pro 2 as an iPad instead of an iPhone.
     
  6. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #6
    Technically that’s almost impossible because iPhone and iPad apps are built with specific targets. If it shows correctly on one iPad then it should show properly in every other iPad. Can you take a picture and post here? I’m really intrigued.
     
  7. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    Thanks! I took a video of this happening:

     
  8. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    I tried modifying its Info.plist but it does not work.
     
  9. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #9
    Unless you are able to build the game with the plist file, it won’t work like that. Also, a lot of the apps, using custom views, actually don’t use things directly from that file.
     
  10. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    Sounds like I need to find a way for Xcode to read the app as a project first if I want to continue with this method

    Meanwhile are you able to see the video? Seems to that it won't show up on iOS devices, not sure if you are affected or not
     
  11. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #11
    You can’t build it without having the source code and proper certificates. That’s a lose lose battle unless you get access to the codebase from the developers.

    Yes I’m able to see the video on my iPhone. Very interesting. This has never happened to me personally. I’ll try to dig and see if I can come out with any logical answer.
     
  12. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    Thanks! I am quite stumped by this problem too and am unsure what else to read up on. If this helps, I am seeing this even when I connect the iPad Pro to my MBP and then use QuickTime's video recording feature to record the iPad's output.
     
  13. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #13
    That definitely points to my original suspicion of screen rendering issue.
     
  14. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    Hmm, I'll see if I can get hold of my sister's iPad Pro 10.5 inch and test from there. Maybe the 12.9 has simply too many pixels (a case of too much of a good thing?)
     
  15. darkarn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    I tried it on my sister's iPad Pro 10.5 inch, it plays flawlessly like on my iPad Air. Caveat is that the iPad Pro is on iOS 10.3.3, so I still cannot ascertain whether the bug happened due to iOS 11 or due to it being a 12.9 inch.

    Best I can do now is to use OBS to manually resize the screen. This means you need a computer, an Apple TV (or Lightning HDMI adapter) and a video game capture card to overcome this issue for now.

    I have heard that you can change the resolution of devices if they are jailbroken. I can try this once the jailbreak for iOS 11.2.6 is out, which will take some time unfortunately.
     

Share This Page