Airplay not working with AppleTV

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by FreeState, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. FreeState macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    I have the iOS7 beta on my AppleTV. I use airplay to watch video from My MacBook Pro - however with yesterdays update all I get now is a black screen.

    Anyone else having this issue?
     
  2. tywebb13, Aug 22, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2013

    tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #2
    Yes. Many of us have the same problem.

    For now, I'm using airparrot to do the airplay mirroring, which works with DP6. I wouldn't recommend it for video though.

    But apple need to fix this. We shouldn't have to rely on a 3rd party app to do something that is built into the system.
     
  3. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #3
    Seems universal. I have the same problem. Submitted a bug report and hopefully everyone else does to!
     
  4. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    works for me, just airplayed to watch something on netflix
     
  5. tywebb13, Aug 22, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2013

    tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #5
    Well now it's getting interesting.

    So it's not universal?

    My computer is the mba 2011, 11", mavericks dp6.

    Could it be that apple are now restricting mavericks airplay mirroring to ivy bridge or haswell processors only?

    If so, that sucks!

    If this is the case, I would like to know why.

    Apple allowed dp1-5 to do it on older computers with sandy bridge processors. Why not dp6?

    I fear that this might not actually be a bug.
     
  6. cmChimera macrumors 68040

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #6
    It's a bug. I have a rMBP and Airplay isn't working for me.
     
  7. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #7
    What if you set the AirPlay Display as a new desktop. Your case is a little different since you are using AirPlay, not AirPlay Display.
     
  8. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    i dont even know what that means ^^ i just airplay my desktop to my tv so i can watch netflix using safari
     
  9. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #9
    Hmm, ok that does sound like you are using AirPlay Display then. If you enable it from the menu bar (and not in iTunes for example) then you are using it.
     
  10. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    i pick it here

    [​IMG]

    and it shows like this

    [​IMG]

    MacBook Pro retina
    2,5 GHz i5
    8GB Ram
    Mavericks DP6
     
  11. kensic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    #11
    i have the same problem, i can't seem to connect with airplay. i do see the airplay mirror at the top, and i am able to select my appletv in the menu, but it has trouble connecting to it.

    mid 2012 cmbp.
     
  12. tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #12
    I've submitted a bug report.

    I'll go back to dp4 if it is not fixed in dp7. I want to avoid that though because that would require a clean install.
     
  13. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #13
    Hmm. been using Air Video as our content is stored on a Windows based server, but will try my rMBP now.....It's not usually too long before Apple fix major bugs like this though.
     
  14. tbolt11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #14
    having same issue. screen goes black. not working.

    def. a bug
     
  15. jhfenton macrumors 6502a

    jhfenton

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Location:
    Norwood, Ohio
    #15
    Same here, Mac mini (Late 2012), base i5 model, 16GB RAM to Apple TV 3 running the latest release version, not the beta. (I'm not doing any development with Airplay, so I haven't bothered to test the Apple TV beta releases.) Trying to extend the desktop onto the Apple TV results in a blank screen and no evidence in the Displays panel that the extra virtual display exists.
     
  16. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #16
    You are one of the lucky ones then! I just get a black screen like most of the others. I'm on a mid 2011 MBA 13" with Mavericks DP6. DP5 worked as normal.

     
  17. yaddam205 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #17
    Same issues here with 2013 13' MBA.

    Good to see I'm not alone!
     
  18. Starflyer macrumors 6502a

    Starflyer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    #18
    ATV 2 or ATV 3?
     
  19. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #19
    atv3
     
  20. yungkickz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #20
    Yeah i'm also experiencing the same issue; just a black screen when I extend the display but i'm not able to mirror display. I'm running a MBA Mid-2011 13" and this was working in Mavericks DP 1-5. I hope this gets fixed in DP7.
     
  21. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
  22. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #22
    I have a bug report on it. I hope others did too. I'm pretty sure they are aware of it at this point. :) I least I hope
     
  23. tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #23
    Apple are definitely aware. I got a response from apple to my bug report.
     
  24. dBeats macrumors 6502a

    dBeats

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
  25. negativzero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #25
    Is it fixed for certain???
    I'm still holding off while on DP4.
     

Share This Page