Airplay seeing (2) next to name?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by quackers82, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. quackers82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #1
    Slowly we are starting to see (2) next to the airplay name as shown in the screen shot. If we look at the device name in the settings it does not have a (2), so any idea whats causing this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #2
    No idea but mine has started doing that too. Not all the time, just randomly.
     
  3. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    My guess is that Apple keeps a table somewhere of all registered devices on a network. When the Airplay device loses its connection, for whatever reason, it is not purged from this table fast enough, and there is a conflict when it reconnects with the same name.

    Since the Airplay service is an interesting dual server and client service on all the devices without a centralized server (each device acts as a server at first waiting for connections from a client, then when a connection is established they switch roles and the device becomes a client and the earlier client becomes a server), I am not sure how Apple keeps this table up to date on all the devices.

    However they do it, it's obviously not purging prior instances of a connection quick enough and causing the conflicts you are seeing. Most likely each device keeps its own table, but once there is a single conflict on any device causing the renaming, the renaming is propagated to all other devices.

    Again, this is just a guess based on my prior experiments (years ago) trying to reverse-engineer Airplay.
     
  4. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #4
  5. Imac Sam macrumors 6502

    Imac Sam

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Location:
    Harrisonburg, Virginia
    #5
    I am having this issue happen on my Imac running 10.9.5 as well. I can leave the computer off, change the Apple TV device name to something totally different. As soon as I check it using Airplay on the Ipad it shows as "name(2)". It is interesting to note that I did replace this unit from an Atv-2 to an Atv-3 a few months back, and it is always shows the "(2)" on the replacement unit, but not on an totally different Atv-2 elsewhere in the house.
     
  6. Abazigal macrumors 604

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    Similar issue here, except I am seeing (3) next to my Apple TV name in the airplay menu.:p
     
  7. quackers82 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    #7
    Found that i can get rid of it by opening up the Airplay name setting and pressing submit without actually changing anything. Still a pain when you have 30+ Apple TVs to do it too.
     
  8. LewisChapman macrumors 6502a

    LewisChapman

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I found that adding a space to the end of the Apple TV name solved the issue for me on several Apple TV's located around the house.
     
  9. frankdogg macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Mid-Wilshire LA
    #9
    i have this issue because i re-setted all of my settings on the ATV but ended up reusing the same name. Maybe that's what you are experiencing as well?
     
  10. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #10

    That isn't the case for me. It wasn't until Yosemite update or an AppleTV update that I started noticing it.

    The issue seems to come and go as its pleases or at least I haven't noticed the common denominator. It does not effect performance.
     
  11. tate16t macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    #11
    This worked for me. The 2 is no longer appearing.
     
  12. thekb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #12
    I'm up to AppleTV (179). The number just keeps growing, but I've ignored it.

    "Found that i can get rid of it by opening up the Airplay name setting and pressing submit without actually changing anything."

    Is this done on the AppleTV device, or on your mac?
     
  13. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #13
    Anyone figure this out yet? I've tried resubmitting the same name and changing the name. A (2) is still there when I bring up AirPlay menus in iOS and OSX.

    Sometimes it won't be there. Other times it will change mid way through AirPlaying and it disconnects (that's how I notice the name change).

    I currently have an active question open for every Apple device in my sig minus the AirPort. What is going on with them anymore? Feels so half assed. Wish they would stop adding features and streamline the ones they already have.
     
  14. Goaliegeek macrumors 6502a

    Goaliegeek

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #14
    This was the only option that worked for me.
     
  15. That-Guy macrumors 6502a

    That-Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Just started getting this, it seems to be since the last Apple TV update for me.

    Tried changing Apple TV Name, reseting Airport Express.

    It seems to fix it for a few days then starts again, I only have the one Apple TV in the house too.
     
  16. LewisChapman macrumors 6502a

    LewisChapman

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    I have found a solution which is (so far) proving true..

    1. Change name of Apple TV to something random temporarily.
    2. Go to network settings and change setup of DHCP config to static.
    3. Restart Apple TV
    4. Change name to the name you wanted originally.
    5. Restart Apple TV

    From what I've read, this bug exists due to the way that the Apple TV sleeps. When the Apple TV wakes from sleep it temporarily exists as a ghost of itself because it wakes as a new identity. The router sees the Apple TV as a second device and bonjour issues the '(2)' you see after the name. The original identity seems to be stuck somewhere (this part I'm not sure on) and thats why at times you see the correct name and at other times you see the '(2)'.

    I could be completely wrong here, it's just what I think is happening.
     
  17. MiamiC70 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011

Share This Page