Airplay/Separate Display

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Juniorc0, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. Juniorc0 macrumors newbie

    Juniorc0

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    #1
    Have a slightly confusing issue with Airplay. I want to use my TV as a second display via Apple TV - principally so I can play video etc on the TV while still being able to use my laptop display for other work etc.

    I have setup Airplay to use my TV as a separate display - all good. What I can't figure out is how (or even if it's possible) to use my TV as its own space/desktop. If I drag a, for example, Chrome window, to the right, it will go across to my tv screen. That display though doesn't show up anywhere in Mission Control.

    Is this the normal/expected behaviour? Ideally I'd like to be able to fullscreen a video in Chrome on my laptop and then switch it over to the TV display.

    Many thanks!
     
  2. Fritz5484 macrumors newbie

    Fritz5484

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    The following may be what you are looking for -- if you are running Yosemite. Open Settings --> Mission Control and select the option: "Displays Have Separate Spaces." If this selection changes your current settings, a reboot will be required.

    I would also confirm your selections for Airplay/Extend Desktop and Airplay/Mirror, which are in the "drop down" from the menu bar Airplay icon and in Settings --> Displays (particularly while Airplay is active).

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Juniorc0 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Juniorc0

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    #3
    Thanks so much for replying. Have done all the above, and still the same problem - it's just not treating my display as a separate space - whatever I try. It's there, and I can move windows to it, but it doesn't exist/show up in mission control at all. Very confusing!

    Thanks again
     
  4. dugbug macrumors 65816

    dugbug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Florida
    #4
    I think the way multiple monitors work is you see spaces on a per-monitor basis, but you can drag a desktop to the right (or left) off into the other monitor and drop it, thus moving screens around monitors.

    I tested this on apple tv and moved a desktop from my primary display to the Apple TV. Invoking the mission control when mouse was on apple tv I could choose between the two desktops.

    Does this help? Did I misunderstand your question
    -d
     
  5. @sk8bird macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    #5
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2016 ---
    move your cursor all the way off the screen and you'll see the separate display, also run all your four fingers up (gesture) to get the Desktop selection at the top of your screen and see the other desktops and plus + sign to the right of the screen (at the top). you have to drag your cursor all the way off your monitor screen on your laptop to the air display it's an additional monitor on your television. It acts as an another screen that's connected like two monitors but is hard to understand initially!
     
  6. steviep147, Jan 6, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2017

    steviep147 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    #6
    I think there is just too much confusing information around. All I wanted to do was, by wifi, use my Apple TV connected to a Sony TV as my main display from a MacBookPro, but doing it seemed overly complex for some reason. I could mirror the display without problem but my MBP always displayed the same content as the TV and so used up too much computing power and made viewing video from the MBP choppy and unwatchable. The way to set this up is really quite simple (well it is now after some confusing hours). 1. From MBP Airplay icon select the Apple TV required and then the Mirror option. The icon will turn blue and the display will mirror via ATV to your TV screen. 2. On the TV display itself, not on your MBP; THAT LAST BIT IS IMPORTANT; go to the Airplay icon and now select "Use As Separate Display". The MBP screen will still be on but will only show a screen saver and the TV is now the display and is controlled from the MBP. Note. Using CMD F1 will switch between displays. I did not need to use the Arrangement tab for this task.
     

Share This Page