AirPlay setup not working

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by PaulKemp, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. PaulKemp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    I tried setting up a Apple TV 3 in a corporate enviroment yesterday. Both the ATV and the iPhone 4 (5.1), MBA 2010 Lion was using the same guest network (wifi). I turned AirPlay on, and connected to the same network with phone and laptop. However I didn't get the AirPlay icon on either mobile music or in iTunes Lion.

    Since I dont have any insight to the network, could it be that it's blocking some ports? All the devices were on the same subnet, so there normally wouldt be any firewall in between those. No blocking between 172.3.3.2 and 172.3.3.5 that is.

    Does AirPlay require a certain connection strength or something like that? Or anything in particular set up in iTunes in Lion?

    After googling this issue online (obviously there are a lot of sources for error in a setup like this) I updated the ATV to the latest fw. But was't able to connect after that either. Any tips greatly appreciated.
     
  2. sim667 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #2
    My apple tv's have problems on my network when they have ip's assigned by DHCP, fine when they're manual.

    You can find the airplay ports on the common port table at apple

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1629
     
  3. PaulKemp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Thank you very much. I will try to set the IP manually.
     
  4. PaulKemp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #4
    Hi, tried the setup today on two different corporate networks. Still the same issue. Able to connect with MBA, iPhone and ATV 3 to the same network - but no AirPlay icon on iTunes MBA or iPhone.
    • Apple TV has FW 5.0.2
    • iPhone has iOS 6 beta 2
    • MBA has 10.7.4
    • Have tried Home sharing, ATV is a now show
    • Have tried two different cooporate networks, static IP on both
     
  5. waw74, Jun 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012

    waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #5
    there is a chance the network is blocking all communication between wireless devices.

    **on your mac, do you see other devices in your finder (shared network computers)

    **on the aTV get the IP address (settings -> general -> network). then on your mac open terminal and type and the ip
    for example
    Code:
    ping 192.168.0.45
    you should get some response.

    **reboot your iOS device, sometimes this helps.

    **get istumbler, you should see the other devices showing up in the bonjour section. services on you air shouldd definitely show up.
     

Share This Page