AirPod volume by AW courtesy of a software update?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Accessories' started by dmaxdmax, Nov 4, 2017.

  1. dmaxdmax macrumors 6502a

    dmaxdmax

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #1
    Physical volume control is the only thing preventing me from getting Airpods - I would buy the Bose in a heartbeat for this very reason if they were sub-$200. If it’s possible that AirPod volume be the default function of the AW crown, IF audio was playing and another app wasn’t in active use, I might take a chance on them. Otherwise, I’ll stick with wired buds on my phone with Bose 35 wireless when I’m on a plane or vacuuming.

    Opinions?
     
  2. nicho macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
  3. dmaxdmax, Nov 5, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2017

    dmaxdmax thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dmaxdmax

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #3
    What about the phone? Is it the default if I’m on a call? So if I’m talking while driving can I change volume without asking the speaker to hold on or take my eyes off the road?

    What if I’m listening to music but 5 minutes ago I checked stock price so it stocks was last used but not active.

    As I type this I realize that there’s no way that I’m going to get what I want without another button. I may try AirPods with a long return privilege but I suspect I’ll return them for something with physical volume buttons.
     
  4. BA2020 macrumors member

    BA2020

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    #4
    Crown adjusts volume with AW. For phone, just use physical volume buttons.

    What I’d like is for double taps on Airpod be configurable for volume up on one, and volume down on the other.

    Still, Airpods are awesome. Try it for a week, and return it if you don’t like it.

    (I would never use Airpods for vacuuming or airplane. The higher volume you’d need to hear would have long term negative effects on your hearing. I use active noise canceling headphones for flying.)
     
  5. harlenmm77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    #5
    Double tap to start Siri. “Turn up volume”
     
  6. dmaxdmax thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dmaxdmax

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #6
    Not a great solution if you're on a phone call. Volume buttons on phone aren't helpful if you're using an AW with LTE. Or even a phone that's a few feet away or in your jacket pocket.
     

Share This Page

5 November 4, 2017