Airpods and moving between devices

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by i0Nic, Jan 15, 2017.

  1. i0Nic, Jan 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2017

    i0Nic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Hey there,

    I have the Airpods (just got them today) and when I switch between listening to my iPhone and Mac it doesn't happen as 'seamlessly' as i thought - ie when going from iPhone to Mac I need to click the bluetooth icon and tap Airpods --> Connect to get them to pair. I would have thought this would happen seamlessly when I am in the vicinity of the Mac and start playing audio on the Mac. Am I doing something wrong, or is this how it is?
     
  2. CMoore515 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Location:
    Des Moines, IA
  3. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #3
    No. That's how they were intended.
     
  4. PCtoMAC1 macrumors 6502

    PCtoMAC1

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for posting that question! I was wondering the same thing and was becoming very frustrated when mine weren't being "seem less".
     
  5. i0Nic thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    Thanks guys. I was hoping it would 'just work' but that's ok. Maybe in a software update they can work even more seamlessly.
     
  6. dotnet macrumors 6502a

    dotnet

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    It does just work, sort of.

    Of course you cannot listen to music from the iPhone Music app via the AirPods, then open your Macbook and expect it to steal the AirPods away from the phone. That's not going to happen, and would be terrible.

    However, when I stop the music on the phone and put the AirPods back in their case they will connect automatically to the Mac if the Mac is open and unlocked, the phone is locked and I take the AirPods out of the case and put them in my ears. It takes a few seconds for that to happen (you'll notice that the volume bars in the menu bar speaker icon change, assuming the internal speakers were set to a different volume). This does happen automatically though, and without clicking anything.

    I think the key is that your intention must be reasonably clear for automatic switch-over to happen. Nilly-willy switching between devices because you happen to unlock one of them or click on a youtube link would be quite bad and aggravating.

    I'll have to experiment a bit more with this and see to which extent expectation and reality match.

    What doesn't work is switch-over to and from the Apple TV. The AirPods must be explicitly connected and disconnected as Bluetooth devices there.
     
  7. udayrulz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #7
    Was a bit surprised by that as well. I need to double check but i think my QC35's can connect to multiple devices at once and switch over to whatever is playing music.
     
  8. dotnet macrumors 6502a

    dotnet

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    What if more than one device is playing music (or video)?
     
  9. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    OP was right. The original intention was for the switching to be completely seamless, however Apple changed their mind before release to make it switch seamlessly only between iPhone and Apple Watch. See this comment from iMore in their review, first describing the expected functionality and then updated to add the row-back.

    Screen Shot 2017-01-16 at 14.38.24.png
     
  10. CharlesShaw, Jan 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017

    CharlesShaw macrumors 6502

    CharlesShaw

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    #10
    Even imore's review shows that - pre-release - they would not switch between the Mac and an iOS device without having to select them, so everyone needs to let that idea go.
     
  11. udayrulz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #11
    Bit late with my reply but I used my QC35 after a while this weekend. They can be connected to a maximum of two devices at the same time and the audio switches to whatever device last played music. So for example if I am listening to music on my Mac and the phone rings the headphones automatically switch over to the phone and then back to the laptop once the call ends.
     
  12. dotnet macrumors 6502a

    dotnet

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    Are you sure the call wasn't going through the Mac?
     
  13. udayrulz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #13
    Yes, they can connect to both devices simultaneously.
     
  14. OzyOly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    #14
    This is good to know. Cheers.
     
  15. Swisspo macrumors regular

    Swisspo

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Location:
    Ohio
    #15
    On the flip side, it literally takes 2 seconds to pair them with my Mac lol
     
  16. didier.ma macrumors newbie

    didier.ma

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #16
    Hmm, I was actually surprised it switched itself today.

    iPhone - Connected - Not playing anything
    iTunes on Mac - Not Connected - Previously connected

    When I play the music on iTunes, it said "Connecting to AirPods" and then in a few seconds music starts to play. I was actually almost paused it because I realised I forgot to connect it to my AirPods and worried the sounds would just come out from the MacBook speaker.
     
  17. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Thats still pretty easy though compared to how it's normally done.
     
  18. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #18
    I've setup a keyboard combo that triggers this AppleScript. Use the name of your AirPods and you can quickly connect to them on your Mac.
     
  19. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #19
    I don't find the switching from iphone to watch happening well at all. I try to use them with my watch for running but MUST turn off bluetooth on the phone before they will connect at all. So, it's really not as seamless as the literature would indicate.
     

Share This Page