AirPods Auto-switching?

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by RMSko, Dec 29, 2016.

  1. RMSko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #1
    I thought that the Airpods were supposed to automatically connect depending on which Apple device you are using. So, if I'm using an iPad Pro and pause my show and then want to listen on my iPhone 7 Plus, I thought it would switch automatically. However, I haven't gotten it to do that. Am I doing something wrong, or does switching require manual intervention. If it does, then I'm returning these and going back to my old headphones which connect to two devices simulataneously and automatically switch. Thoughts?
     
  2. Type4O, Dec 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2017

    Type4O macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    I am having a hell of time with this. The things connected to my iPad as that was the last device but refuse to switch to my iPhone even though I have switched bluetooth on my iPad off.
     
  3. ideal.dreams macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #3
    I thought the same thing but I can't seem to get them to switch sources automatically. I've had to manually select AirPods from my watch, iPhone, and iPad if I wanted to switch between the three.
     
  4. Kjung7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    #4
    Oh no this is one of the main reasons I placed an order for the AirPods. Isn't that what the W1 chip is for?

    It seems like another buggy product Apple did not fully test cough* MacBook Pro cough*

    But I still bought them both
     
  5. RMSko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #5
    Well that's disappointing and seems to conflict with what Cook said when he introduced them. Well I guess mine are going back to the Apple Store then.
     
  6. Type4O macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  7. R1001001001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    #7
    The way I understood it they don't automatically switch. The difference is you don't have to open up the Settings app you can connect to them from swiping up from the bottom through the control center tab.
     
  8. Nikhil72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #8
    They connect automatically via iCloud. You have to manually select them as an output source. It will automatically place from the last connected device. The W1 eliminates the need to repair with each device each time and to go into the bluetooth setting menu. The maximum a standard pair of BT headphones can pair with via multipoint is 2 devices (they can remember more than 2 typically, but require manual reselection if it wasn't the last two devices you used them with). With the W1, you can simultaneously have the airpods/beats as an output option on an iCloud-signed in iPhone, Apple Watch, iPad, or Mac.

    "AirPods connect automatically with all your Apple devices. They’re simultaneously connected to your iPhone and Apple Watch, and sound switches instantly between the devices. Want to listen to your Mac or iPad? Just choose AirPods on those devices."
     
  9. RMSko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #9
    That's too bad. For example, I was watching on my iPad and got a call and the call didin't automatcially come through my headphones. I guess that's the way it was intended, but since I only need it for two devices, I'm going back to my old headphones which automatically switches devices depending on which device is outputting sound (and even if I'm using my ipad, if a call comes in, it auto switches to my phone so I can answer the call). IMO - the AirPods aren't much of an advancement at all.
     
  10. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    well

    i was watching a youtube video with my beats solo3 then i put them down and put in my air pods and the video carried on playing through my air pods.

    So it clearly works in this way but from iPad to iPhone? you still need to go in control center for music to switch from iPad to iPhone.
     
  11. Type4O macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #11
    I don't really care if they don't automatically switch as long as I don't have to delete them, restart everything, and spend another fifteen minutes trying to get them to reconnect, which is what I did today.
     
  12. R1001001001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    #12
    Mine have been switching just fine using the swipe up through control center option. And I leave my Bluetooth on all the time on all devices.
     
  13. Type4O, Dec 29, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016

    Type4O macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #13
    I am away for a few days so will test them out some more. If they continue to have connection issues, they go back on Tuesday. I have also discovered that if I hold my iPhone from the top, with my fingers about half way down, the connection cuts out until I release the phone again.
     
  14. RMSko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #14
    But that still requires manual intervention. What I want is for the sound to come through automatically without having to do anything else, i.e., if the iPad is playing sound then the AirPods would channel that sound and if I pause the iPad and play something through the iPhone, I want it to automatically play that without me having to swipe and select it through the control center
     
  15. bobTX10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #15
    They automatically switch ONLY between iPhone and Apple Watch. Otherwise you have to use the control center to switch between devices. Which isnt too bad in itself. Takes about 3 seconds
     
  16. cosmic68 macrumors 6502

    cosmic68

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #16
    FYI the tester AirPods that Apple sent out to reviewers did all switch without manual intervention (on Apple products). So it was kinda talked about in this way, at least by reviewers and I had a notion in my head that mine would do the same when I got them.

    Maybe a future update will bring this behaviour back-not sure why they axed it, as it seemed to work on the early test models.
     
  17. RMSko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #17
    Yea, but if you're constantly switching, that 3 seconds is a pain, especially if you're on your iPad and have a call coming in.
     
  18. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #18
    Personally I would find this extremely annoying. Imagine if you're listening to music on your Mac and then you open some app like Facebook (or a website) that has auto-playing videos and all of a sudden your AirPods switch to your phone to play that. How would they be able to tell when to switch and when not to?

    I get that in theory it's a good idea, but when you consider the practicalities -- as Apple no doubt did -- it doesn't work well.
     
  19. RMSko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #19
    I have headphones that do this and they work perfectly. It's simple, if sound is coming from one device, it will stay on that device and not switch even if sound comes from the second device. However, if no sound is coming from a device, it will automatically switch to whatever device has sound. So, in your example it would not switch unless you paused the MAC.
     
  20. Traverse macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #20
    I believe this is what Apple meant, though they could have been more clear.

    The fact that I can swipe up and see the AirPods on my iPad, iPhone, Apple Watch and Mac (via menubar) when I only ever paired with the iPhone shows that the AirPods *did* automatically connect/pair to my devices via iCloud. However, I need to tell my device if I want speakers or the AirPods. An "always use AirPods" option would be nice, but not having to constantly repair is even nicer.
     
  21. markblesher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    #21


    Just received airpods and there are a lot of things to like about them ( setup, sound, ease of control). However, there is one feature that they seem to lack that my other bluetooth headsets have. This is the ability to connect to two devices at once. Specific example is the following scenario.

    I have an iphone and an ipad ( all latest gen and SW). I am watching a movie on the ipad and my phone receives a call. My other Bluetooth headsets will pause the movie and will switch to the phone so all I will have to do is answer the call. When I hang up, the control switches back to the ipad and the movie continues. This is auto switching between a headset paured to two devices. I do not seem to be able to do this with the airpods. With the airpods, I have to see that there is a phone call coming in, quick switch the airpods to the phone by swiping up and selecting airpods on the phone , then answer the call. This is very manual and terrible functionality for a new product. As I stated, my 2yr old LG BT headset has better functionality as it will automatically switch. A quick switch is not quick if it is inserting a manual step in what should be automated.

    Has anyone seen auto-switching to the iphone working? Is there something wrong in my config? If it is behaving the way it should then the airpods are a step back in wireless and seamless communication.
     
  22. Fozziebear71 macrumors regular

    Fozziebear71

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    #22
    If you have a call coming in while your on your iPad why not just answer the phone call on the ipad that you currently have the airpods connected to. I've had this happen several times already while listening to music or podcasts and they automatically switch to the phone call when I answer. It has worked flawlessly for me.
     
  23. markblesher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    #23
    My ipad is wifi only, so cellular call routing to pick up call on the ipad only works when both have active wifi connection on the same network ( such as at home). Anywhere else, work, train etc, it is unlikely both devices will be connected to wifi. (iphone personal hotspot, and public wifi connections not reliable enough to leave wifi on the devices when out in public)
     
  24. ApplePhy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    #24
    Whenever I open the case to pull out my airpods, there is no pop up notification indicating the airpods are connected (and showing battery remaining). In fact, often times they aren't connected at all and I have to select them as an audio source by swiping up from the bottom and pulling up the menu.

    In the promo videos, it shows the user opening the case, and instantly there is a pop up window that shows that the airpods are connected and battery life remaining.

    Anyone have any suggestions on how I can get this feature to work?

    I have my idevice on before opening the case, but nothing.
     
  25. jitgill macrumors member

    jitgill

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #25
    I personally would not want too much auto switching. If I have the pods active on the iPhone and waiting for calls, however I'm watching youtube videos or listening to iTunes on my mac in between calls, I would not want it to automatically switch from the phone to my MBP. It makes perfect sense to manually switch from a main device like iPhone, iPad or MBP. Switching manually is easy as, all I have to do is either swipe (iPhone, iPad) or click the menu bar on my MBP. Not having to pair all the time is a great, even among 5 devices (apple)

    Now what i would like to see is something like default profiles. For instance I can set all incoming phone calls to switch the AirPods to the iPhone automatically. Then maybe automatically switch to which ever device has active media running. But then even that might get in the way as I have some high end speakers hooked up to my MBP and will sometimes have music playing in the background when I'm on a conference call.

    Maybe we will see profiles in future updates.
     

Share This Page