AirPods autoswitch?

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by jaska121, Jun 8, 2018.

  1. jaska121 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
  2. username: macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    #2
  3. jaska121 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    #3
    Could you explain more? I’m not familiar with this at all. How does it work?
     
  4. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #4
    It definitely doesn't nor it ever did on my devices. Not in 11/10.13 nor on betas of 12/10.14.
     
  5. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #5
    Auto switch only worked between an iPhone and Apple Watch AFAIK.
     
  6. windywalks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #7
    No, you can only switch manually in High Sierra and iOS 11. I have iOS 12 on my iPad and iPhone and Mojave on my MBP and it doesn't work at all.
    It took them long enough to make Personal Hotspot, AirDrop and Continuity work kinda sorta consistently, so this will probably work intermittently in the coming months.
     
  7. iMacDragon macrumors 68000

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Not seeing this behaviour here, thought it would be potentially nice, certainly.
     
  8. Ansath macrumors newbie

    Ansath

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Deffo not auto switching to my MacBook on Mojave.
     
  9. odoy macrumors regular

    odoy

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    im sad. this works perfekt with Bose qc35 but nut with the AirPods :(
     
  10. Ansath macrumors newbie

    Ansath

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Location:
    England
    #11
    That’s odd, since they don’t have the W1 chip....
     
  11. HopefulHumanist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #12
    Pretty sure he's wrong or lying. That feature has never existed and was not mentioned at all during the keynote in any documents released recently.
     
  12. itsmilo macrumors 68020

    itsmilo

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Location:
    Europe
    #13
    I was disappointed when I got my AirPods because even my older Sony Bluetooth earphones could do it (up to three devices)
     
  13. windywalks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #14
    Up to three devices that you pre-pair with, yes, but not automatically with all devices logged into an iCloud account.
    I have more than three Apple devices which could switch automatically but they don't.
    I also have the QC IIs so I know they work like any other Bluetooth device that is paired with more than one audio source.
     
  14. Ansath macrumors newbie

    Ansath

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Location:
    England
    #15
    You’re mixing up auto switching with stored pairings. I’ve got 6 non-W1 chip devices that the AirPods have stored pairs for, and then I’ve got my MacBook, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch. AirPod will connect automatically to the last device used, unless it’s not in range.

    It wil automatically swap between iOS devices, as well as the watch, automatically when audio plays (tho this can be skittish between iPad and iPhone).
     
  15. Southern Dad macrumors 68000

    Southern Dad

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    Shady Dale, Georgia
    #16
    I was having a lot of problems with my AirPods automaticatically switching to my iPhone X from the Apple Watch or MacBook. Then I discovered that the Tile app was my problem. Apparently there are a limited number of Bluetooth connections. I don’t know how many calls I had to dial again because of this.
     
  16. rdowty macrumors 6502a

    rdowty

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #17
    I like the Tile's but their app has caused me problems with my AirPods and my car stereo so many times that I uninstalled it and will probably never use it again. During WWDC I remember Tile being mentioned and was thinking its too bad the app causes so many problems.
     
  17. Southern Dad macrumors 68000

    Southern Dad

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    Shady Dale, Georgia
    #18
    I still use Tile but I moved the app to my iPad.
     
  18. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #19
    Yep. It's not a thing and never was.
     
  19. rdowty macrumors 6502a

    rdowty

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #20
  20. Ansath macrumors newbie

    Ansath

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Location:
    England
    #21
  21. odoy macrumors regular

    odoy

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #22
    with qc35 you can listen to any audio source on your iOS device. when you start for example a youtube video or a call on a neighbourly Mac the headphone switch automatically and when you close the window, you listen to the iOS source agin.
    without w1 and iCloud magic. it just works
     
  22. windywalks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    #23
    I know it does, but all those devices have to be paired through a regular pairing process.
    They are not all automatically synced to your iCloud account without the need for pairing, which is my point here.
     
  23. WishIWasHere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #24
    To be fair, the OP didn't make any claims about anything. He just linked to something else and asked if anybody knew anything about it, and even admitted that he was not familiar with it. The wrong/lying blame lies with the Chris Maddern guy whose Twitter link was shared. Not that anybody is likely that worried about it, just sayin'
     
  24. Ansath, Jun 18, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2018

    Ansath macrumors newbie

    Ansath

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Location:
    England
    #25
    Plus, I believe that they’re limited to 2 devices for simultaneous connection

    Edit - to correct the word Plus being split by the quote
     

Share This Page