Airport closing off internet ports

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by placebo, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. placebo macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    #1
    I have two computers, one PC one Mac, a router and an Airport. Whenever I plug in the two computers through the router (with no Airport), they work fine, but whenever I plug in the Airport to the router, either one computer can't connect to the internet, or the Airport just blinks yellow. I know the router isn't the problem, it just seems like the Airport is cutting off something. Any ideas?
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    You need to use your Mac, go to Utility / Airport Utility, and set up the device. Should take only a few minutes.

    "Status light is flashing amber – AirPort Express has completed its start up sequence but has no IP connection (due to out of network range, Ethernet unplugged, no path to Internet or local router, ISP problem, set up as wireless client but not in access control list, etc.)"
     
  3. placebo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    #3

    I have already set up the Airport, I've used it many times before.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Major possibilities...

    1) Is your router MAC filtering? If so, it will not give the AEBS an IP address and it will not work.

    2) Is the AEBS configured correctly (e.g. to use DHCP to get an upstream IP and then create a downstream subnet)? If you previously used the AEBS in bridge mode or with a modem that uses PPPoE or something like that, you're going to need to reconfigure it. This is particularly what it sounds like, since you say the AEBS sometimes lets just one computer work. It sounds like it's giving that computer ownership of the upstream IP address. That's bridging. In that kind of configuration, the AEBS can only have one client, as it only has one upstream IP address to give away.
     
  5. placebo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    #5
    1) I don't know if it's MAC filtering.

    2) How do I stop it from bridging?
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Then you need to find out. ;) Look at your router manual.

    Follow Consultant's directions above. ;)
     
  7. placebo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    #7
    OK, how do I turn off MAC filtering?
     

Share This Page