Airport connect to internet via iPhone

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by tobebryant, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. tobebryant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,

    as I do not have LAN access - is there a possibility to use my iphone to make a connection for my airport express time capsule? Could the time capsule access the internet via my iphone?

    Thanks to all,
    Tobe
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Potentially. You would need to have the Express join the iPhone and connect via its Ethernet port to the Time Capsule.
     
  3. tobebryant thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #3
    Hmm and how could I do that? I have literally no idea...
     
  4. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #4
    Question: Do you have a Time Capsule or an AirPort Express - or both? Your post wasn't clear on that.

    If you want to use your iPhone as the internet source for your router(s), what you'd do is this:
    Create a Wi-Fi Hotspot on your iPhone, go to AirPort Utility on your Mac and set your Time Capsule or AirPort Express to "Join a wireless network", selecting your iPhone hotspot as the network to join.

    Then if you need to connect your second router, connect them via Ethernet, using a normal Ethernet port on the router that has joined the iPhone network, and the WAN port on the other. Or set the second router to also join the Wi-Fi network (which won't require an Ethernet cable) (or possibly "Extend", though I don't know if that will work).

    This all seems like a rather complicated idea, though. Are you using your iPhone's 4G/3G as your primary internet connection?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    The Express would have to join, not the Time Capsule as when a Extreme or TC is in join mode the Ethernet ports are disabled.
     
  6. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #6
    - Wasn't aware of that. Good to know.
     

Share This Page