Airport connects to router, but not to internet

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by topher-j, Apr 30, 2007.

1. topher-j macrumors newbie

Hi,

I have a MacBookPro 15" C2D. I applied an update to Airport recently via the apple menu: Software Update, and since then I'm having trouble connecting to the internet through my wireless router (D-Link). I can see the network, and I can connect to it, but no internet capabilities. Under System Preferences : Network it says:

AirPort is connected to the network "xxx". AirPort has a self-assigned IP address and may not be able to connect to the Internet.

Under the TCP/IP settings for the AirPort it obtains an IP address through DHCP of 169.254.129.46 with a subnet mask of 255.255.0.0. I've read that if it gets an IP address of 169.254.x.x it means it couldn't connect to the router (or something like that, I'm not an expert at this).

I try manually setting the IP address, but that doesn't work either. The airport status changes to:

AirPort is connected to the network "xxx". You are connected to the Internet via AirPort.

but I still can't get to any Internet sites. I try turning off my firewall. That doesn't help.

Periodically it will be able to get a valid IP address using DHCP, but I can't consistently do this, and it's very frustrating.

I've looked online for help, and haven't found anything useful. Does anyone here have any ideas on how to fix this? Or is there a way to revert to the previous AirPort software version

2. netguy macrumors newbie

As you suspected, you are going to get no-where with a 169. address.

When you assigned a static IP address, did you put in a DNS address?

Have you hard plugged into the router, to see if the router is passing internet traffic?

Were you able to get internet wirelessly, before you did the software update?

3. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

deadpixels