Airport Express 802.11g. How to extend network

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by donmadrid1500, Jan 28, 2012.

  1. donmadrid1500 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #1
    I have an Airport Extreme connected directly to the internet and in another part of my house an Airport Express 802.11n. It is an extended network and works fine. (most of the time)

    I have some tenants in another part of the house and they are getting a weak connection from the Base Station. I want to use an older 802.11g Airport Express I have lying around to extend the network into their area for stronger signal strength. A short term solution until I hard wire something there.

    The thing is, the AEp 802.11g does not have an option for extending a network only joining a wireless network or participating in a WDS network.

    The firmware on the unit is 6.3. The 7.6 firmware seems to be only for "n" wireless devices.

    I set it up for joining a wireless network and plugged it in next to a laptop in the apartment...nothing. No boost in signal strength at all.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. willieva macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    #2
    You're not doing anything wrong. To get that vintage express to extend the network it must be in WDS mode.

    You'd probably have to put both of your express's in WDS mode to get it to work properly. WDS is the least best way to extend a network, as it sucks the most bandwidth.
     
  3. donmadrid1500 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #3
    Thank you for that info.

    I'm setting them up now. They don't seem to want to play nice together.
     
  4. EthanH macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    #4
    Airport Express 802.11g. How to extend network

    I was trying to extend an Airport Extreme g version with a new Airport Express which is the N version. Apple tech support informed me that they are incompatible.
     
  5. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #5
    Agreed, WDS mode isn't supported by the N class units.
     

Share This Page