Airport Express a solid choice?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by CheesyTators, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. CheesyTators macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #1
    Hi All,

    I am in search of a new router and one that will actually stay connected, is reliable and actually has decent speed. I am replacing a Linksys E2500 that has been a real headache with my Comcast modem and needs a reset each month to maintain speeds.

    I have it narrowed down to a good quality Asus RT-N56U or the airport express. I prefer Apple if it's just as good. I have a 50mb/s Comcast plan and live in a small ranch condo without a basement so range isn't a serious issue for me. My primary use is streaming HD media, Hulu, Netflix and also downloading games as needed. I don't do any network storage or anything else so I don't need to spend $200 on a top of the line router wth a bunch of features I'll never use.

    Is the express a solid choice for me?

    Rob
     
  2. troy14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas (Summerlin), NV
    #2
    I would say yes. The Apple routers are great if you just need a wifi router to set up and never have to worry about it again. If you need more functionality (control over QoS, port forwarding) etc.. I would get the Asus since Apple routers offer very little in that regard, however in my house we use a time capsule, airport extreme, and airport express and I can't remember a time where we had an issue or had to restart any of them in years..
     
  3. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #3
    Yes. Keep in mind that they only have one LAN port and all ports are 10/100 Mbps. I use them at school as APs and they handle 30-40 clients under extreme load without issue.
     
  4. CheesyTators thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #4
    Thanks to you both for the replies, I did just remember that I do need to use port forwarding TCP/UDP I think it's called for one piece of software I use. Can I set up a basic port forward on the Express?

    Rob
     
  5. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #5
    Port forwarding is supported on the AirPorts.
     
  6. c0LdFire macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    #6
    I'll be the slight voice of reason here and say that the Express is already outdated. Drop a little extra money and grab a refurbished AC Extreme. It's in an entire different league, and you won't need to replace it again as soon.
     
  7. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #7
    While it's a solid choice right now, you might as well future proof and buy something that can handle more than 100 Mbps, when you're already at 50 Mbps.
     
  8. troy14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas (Summerlin), NV
    #8
    Yes, but it is horrid. You can't have the same port open on more than one IP and you have to restart the router after ANY change to its configuration, which is super annoying
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9

    Most routers cannot port forward to more than one device simultaneously.
     
  10. troy14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas (Summerlin), NV
    #10
    Yes, however you can't forward the same port on different IPs at all... Such as having more than one Xbox PS4 in a house etc
     
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11
    That is correct. For most users one has to port forward to one device and put the other into the DMZ which can expose security issues.
     
  12. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #12
    Not really an issue!
    I have 3 XBox360's and one PS4 on my network. (along with ~ 10 Mac's, iPad's,iPhone's, Security system with IP cameras ........)
    Primary router is a Time Capsule 2 years old.
    All works like a charm.
    No problems with Xbox or PS4 whatsoever!

    I would second the statement above: Get a Time Capsule A/C router from apple refurbished.
    It is future proofed, has much better range, can attach HDD for Time Machine backups, ....
     
  13. Southern Dad macrumors 65816

    Southern Dad

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #13
    I've got an Airport Extreme 4th Generation and an Airport Time Capsule 5th Generation. I'm 100% satisfied with both of them. They have a strong signal and most importantly, they just work.
     
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14
    I manage a network of AirPorts at my school that serves over 150 clients daily. Rock solid reliability and fantastic performance.
     
  15. cmm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #15
    No. I don't recommend Apple's routers.

    Get a Ubnt ERL and x number of WAPs, depending on the size of your house( I have one on each floor of my five floor house).

    Whether you need the AC WAP or not depends on your specific use, which you haven't outlined.
     
  16. brentmore macrumors 6502

    brentmore

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    In my opinion, Apple routers are outstanding for the average and power-user. I've had many generations of the Airport Extreme/Express up to the 5th before moving to Ubiquiti's ERL. The ERL is a outstanding router, but has a high cost of entry in terms of knowledge. It's very flexible and has a ton of features, but unless you're a telecom engineer looking for a home router or are really into networking, you're better off with the ease of setup of the Apple routers.
     
  17. cmm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #17
    I disagree. For something as vital as wifi, it's worth spending 5 hours to learn some networking. Besides, chances are you (and the OP doesn't state anything that would need to) don't need to do anything beyond the wizard built into the ERL. It's really a no brainer. Although Ubnt's UI isn't as nice as Apple's, I admit, but I prefer CLI anyway, so...
     
  18. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #18
    The Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite is a bit more than what any home user would need in most cases. That being said, those who feel comfortable with equipment like that will see a definite benefit. I manage both AirPort and UniFi networks without issue and you can tell they are both powerful tools but with different targets. A poorly configured network can be just as bad as a simple but low end network.
     
  19. Traverse macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #19
    I wouldn't just because it isn't 802.11 ac, but Apple's routers are solid. I'm going on three years with my AirPort Extreme.
     

Share This Page