Airport Express? Airport Extreme? both or neither?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by londonmystery, Jul 24, 2009.

1. londonmystery macrumors 6502

londonmystery

Right so here is my issue. I have a very large house (4 floors). My router is on the top floor where the main phone line is, it will be connected via ethernet to my soon to be bought iMac.

My MBP and the wife's Vaio are normally used in the living room on the first floor. They are connected wirelessly and work fine.

I also have a PS3 and play quite a lot online but have to connect wirelessly. average signal strength is 45-50%.

My average dowload speed is 16-18 mbps

There are also stereos on all floors.

Question is this; I would like to increase the signal strength on my PS3 and play music from the iMac across all floors, which, if either would I need to do theses things? is the extreme a router? Please be gentle as I am a mac newbie and am still learning.

Thanks in advance for any help. :):)

2. aristobrat macrumors G4

The Airport Extreme and Airport Express can act as both wireless access points and routers, although the routing feature can be turned off if needed. (Most places only need one device acting as a router).

Both the Express and Extreme have the ability to expand (i.e. relay the signal) of a wireless network, but the catch is that they can only do that on a network where all of the routers are Airports. (That's not entirely true -- some models of Linksys can be hacked to work with the Airports, but you don't hear about many people doing that nowadays). The other catch with this is that expanding networks slows them down a little bit (as the extra Airports now have to do the double-duty of listening for wireless traffic, then rebroadcasting it).

The Express is the only device that lets your hookup speakers and stream music it to it (from iTunes, or other special programs, like AirFoil).