Airport Express Assistant

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bear1973, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. bear1973 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #1
    I just bought a used Airport Express, which seems pretty much useless without the utility "Airport Express Assistant". And yet I can't seem to find this utility anywhere to download. It's got to be shareware, I would think.

    Has anyone got it? Wonder why Apple doesn't have it online?

    Thanks!
     
  2. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #2
    It's installable software that comes with it AE package. See if the original owner has it. Or call Apple to see if they will send you the CD.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
  4. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    I thought the Airport utility came with Mac OS X? Its not in your Applications > Utility folder?
     
  5. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    It's in your Applications>Utilities folder.

    If it's not for some weird reason email me, I'll send it to you.
     
  6. bear1973 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #6
    Airport Express Assistant

    mkrishnan - good thought, but I need to have 10.3 installed, and I have 10.4.8.

    GimmeSlack12 - I do have two apps in my utility folder, Airport Setup Assistant and Airport Admin Utility. Neither are locating my airport express.

    Anyway, this is what I've got going on - maybe someone can help.

    I am running an iMac Core 2 Duo 20" 2.16 w/2 gigs. Wireless system is a Belkin Links g. I plug in the Airport Express, which goes green for a second, then solid amber for 20 seconds, then blinking amber. When I run the utils, it does not pick up the AE. I'm trying the scan function.

    I was under the impression that there was a separate utility called "Airport Express Assistant," but maybe it is the same thing as Airpot Setup Assistant Version 4.2.3 (423.1).

    Any ideas?

    Thanks again for your advice.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    I think that application is actually a Windows app. You should be using the one you've got in your utils folder.

    Two things to try:

    (1) Hard reset it and then try connecting to it using the setup assistant.

    (2) Connect an ethernet cable from the port on the Airport to a Mac and run the setup assistant; once it's set up, detach it from the Mac and plug it into the router.
     
  8. bear1973 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    #8
    Thanks Everyone

    ...I got it, finally. GimmeSlack12 helped me with some trouble shooting, and finally I was able to "find" my network and locate the AE (after trying the networks of three of my neighbors).

    What an awesome little device. I think I'll buy another.

    Thanks again!
     
  9. iSaint macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #9
    They're great little tools. Mine's been working non-stop for nearly three years!

    Sorry I mislead you, but the MR masters came through again. :rolleyes: :D
     

Share This Page