Airport Express - Can assign static IP?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by edrifkin, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. edrifkin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I want to make sure each computer in my airport express network to have static IPs. Is there a way that I can assign which IP to give for which MAC address? Thanks in advance.

    - Ed
     
  2. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    Doesn't look like there's an option to do that in the Airport Admin Utility. It's probably easy enough to configure each computer individually?
     
  3. jdavtz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Kenya
    #3
    Do it like this:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jdavtz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Kenya
    #4
    Sorry, I misread your post, I thought you wanted each Airport Express to have a fixed IP address.

    To get each computer to have a fixed IP address you need to configure them individually under System Prefs > Network:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #5
    Make sure you assign it out of the range of what the router hands out.
     
  6. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #6
    just out of curiosity, why do you want the static ip addresses?

    Years ago, in a mixed windows/os9 environment, it resolved issues where the router would assign an ip address to another device and the mac would be unable to connect because it still thought it had the address. I can't see that being a problem now.

    Is this a remote connectivity issue? just wondering :confused:
     

Share This Page