Airport Express/Extreme issues

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jmrnavydoc, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. jmrnavydoc macrumors newbie

    jmrnavydoc

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    I used to have only an airport express in my apt which worked great, both with printing and itunes, no issues at all. We then moved and during the move, i bought a new extreme to get faster/wider coverage and use the express as a relay (and have printer hooked up to extreme and stereo hooked up to express in another room). Since installing the extreme, i cannot set up the express -- my MBP will not recognize it, even when hooked up directly via ethernet cable. Any ideas why this happens/what i can do to fix it? Thanks.
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #2
    Won't reconise it? As in when you go to your wireless connections it refuses to join?

    Tried setting it up using the Airport Utility?
     
  3. jmrnavydoc thread starter macrumors newbie

    jmrnavydoc

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #3
    Already tried setting it up with airport utility -- the software won't even recognize that there is an express there to set up and it won't show in my wireless connections. When plugged into the wall, it's just flashing orange. Any ideas?
     
  4. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #4
    The Airport Express activity light will flash amber if there is no internet connection (or it can't connect for whatever reason). You can still access it through Airport Utility so bit strange how it doesn't show up at all.

    What version of Airport Utility are you using?
     
  5. jmrnavydoc thread starter macrumors newbie

    jmrnavydoc

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    Version 5.2.1 -- i think it's the one that came with the new extreme. Also can't find the cd for the express to load that airport utility.
     
  6. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #6
    The Airport Utility that cane with your Extreme can be used on your Express.

    I'd start Airport Utility on your computer, move the Express to an outlet very close to your computer, find a pen/paperclip and hold the Express' reset button down until the orange light starts blinking, wait a few seconds and then on your computer, see if you see a new WiFi network that starts with Apple on it. If so, select it, then wait for the Airport Utility to notice it, then run thru the wizard.

    It took a few attempts (using those basic steps) when I got my new Extreme to get the old Express up and running. :)
     
  7. jmrnavydoc thread starter macrumors newbie

    jmrnavydoc

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    WORKED! Thanks a lot. Was going to take it to the apple store but never had time and never could make an appointment. Thanks again.
     
  8. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #8
    Glad it worked. And hello from Virginia Beach. :D
     
  9. jmrnavydoc thread starter macrumors newbie

    jmrnavydoc

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    Hello from norfolk
     

Share This Page