AirPort Express Help Please!

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bouldermac, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. bouldermac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    So I just picked up an express last night to expand my current network to get better coverage in the house.

    I've got a TC upstairs.

    I hooked everything up last night and setup the express with AirUtility.

    I plugged a 1TB drive into it to move my iTunes library over.

    Few questions:

    How do I know that it is working? Would it just come through on my wifi as the same network that I am expanding automatically?

    I can't find my drive either?

    I go to finder on my MBP and I can't seem to find it.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    TIA
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Airport Expresses cannot use an USB hard drive, only a printer. The WiFi network will automatically expand if you tell it to and you'll only see a bigger range around the Express.
     
  3. bouldermac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    Seriously?!?!:confused:

    ***** liars.:mad:

    The TC can handle that right?

    Thanks for the quick response!

    :)
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    who? nowhere does apple say that it can handle a drive.


    Yes

    If you have a mac, get istumbler, if everything is working, your network should show up twice in the list,
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Liars? Who are the liars? Apple's documentation says only USB printers. The Time Capsule can make a USB hard drive a network enabled one.
     
  6. bt22 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    If your Airport Express is working properly you will be able to see and control it thru Airport Utility. Yes, TC can handle a USB attached HDD. It will become a networked drive. The drive will need to be formatted in Fat32 or Mac OS Extended.
     
  7. bouldermac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    dip **** at 1800 #

    I didn't even read the description just talked with them.

    may have to move setup around.
     

Share This Page