Airport Express issue?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Nellie17, Jan 8, 2017.

  1. Nellie17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #1
    I'm using Macbook Pro with 10.11.6 Until a week or so, I used Airport Express, and older model, as WIFI base station. It has worked well for years, but I began to have problems with interruptions on certain web pages, problems that went away when I went to other locations using other wifi. So I thought interference and weak wifi might be the issue, neighbor's wifi, etc. So I upgraded to Airport Extreme. New wifi seemed to work better but I realized i had lost Airplay, which I use a lot. So i have been tying to add the Express to the network, only to get the message "This version of Airport Utility doesn't support this base station" regarding Express. Which is odd, since until I changed to Extreme, the Express was working just fine. I suspect something else is going on, but don't know how to diagnose/fix. Any help appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #2
    Did you upgrade the Airport Utility? Later versions of the utility don't work with many older devices. Older versions of the software don't work with more recent Apple WiFi products.

    It's a shame. I loved my Airport Express (First Gen) when I traveled and for Airplay. It was like having second USB charger and my network with me without having to lug two things around.

    This applies to the first generation Airport Expresses.
     
  3. Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #3
    My guess is yes.

    You can still download the old Windows version 5.6.1 which works with the original airport expresses. It's here at apple: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1547?locale=en_US

    You'll need either a windows PC or a Windows VM on your mac to run it. I use a VM, but if you don't have one, just borrow a PC.

    It's what I use to configure (rarely now) an original 2004-2005 Express that I use just for airplay. Still going strong after all these years.
     
  4. bubsdaddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Woodlands, TX
  5. Nellie17 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #5
    I'm using Airport Utility 6.3.6. But I was using that same version two weeks ago with the Airport Express, working just fine. Did I disrupt this honeymoon by introducing the Extreme?

    Bubsdaddy: when you say you use the older utility to "configure" the express, what do you mean by configure? Thanks.
     
  6. Arran, Jan 9, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2017

    Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #6
    That's odd. I just checked on one of my old Macs running El Capitan 10.11.6 (same as you) that still has Airport Utility 6.3.6 (same as you).

    As soon as I click the really old Express (a 802.11G-only version which I presume is the same as yours, yes?) I get the message: "This version of AirPort Utility doesn't support this base station". I can click on a newer Express I have (the next model released that supports 802.11N) and that works fine.

    Are you sure you didn't upgrade the Airport Utility without realizing?
     
  7. bubsdaddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Woodlands, TX
    #7
    The version from the link I included still recognizes and allows access to the first-generation Airport Express. You can then adjust the settings on the AEX to join your network and whatever audio settings you use.
     
  8. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #8

Share This Page