Airport Express or Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by iono11200, Jul 17, 2014.

  1. iono11200 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #1
    I'm a new iMac owner. I'd like to gradually add to my system and make it all Apple. First item I'd like to get is a an Apple Router. We have 2 iPads and 2 iPhones in our home and mostly do e-mail and web surfing. I Like the look of the Airport Express vs. the Airport Extreme. My question is will the Airport Express be best suited for my needs or should I be a bit more agressive and buy the Airport Extreme? Of course cost is a factor but I'd like to make the most sensible purchase that I can. Any and All suggestions are appreciated.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    If you can swing the cash, IMO the Extreme would be better for you simply because you mentioned you have the new iMac that supports 802.11AC wifi and the Express does not support that. AC will give you much better speeds within the network for file transfers etc.

    Also, you can plug a cheap USB drive into the Extreme and use it for Time Machine backups.

    If you are using any wired ethernet devices, the Express only supports 100BASE‑T vs the gigabit ethernet of the Extreme.
     
  3. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #3
    It all depends on how big the area is you want to cover with WIFI.
    The AExpress is ok for an apartment ~ 1200 sqft - exact coverage depends on you building materials.
    The AExtreme or Time Capsule will cover a much larger space.

    As for your iMac backup I suggest getting a USB 3 disk and connect it to the iMac directly.
     
  4. nephron8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #4
    Does plugging hdd in extreme really turns it up in time machine ???
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Yes, as long as it is the new tower shaped Extreme model.
     
  6. nephron8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #6
    Ohh.understood.I was trying to do same with 5th gen model.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Nope... sorry. That is not supported on the fifth gen models.
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8

    Also, despite there being work arounds for it they are highly unstable. I recommend that you consider the newer Extreme or Time Capsule for your next router.
     
  9. Goodebar macrumors newbie

    Goodebar

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    Tampa
    #9
    Power surge issue

    My 2011 AirPort Extreme often goes off during a thunder storm, and takes several hours to reset. Now it will not turn on, but I do not know what the problem is? Help?
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10

    I am guessing it won't turn on due to the thunderstorm shocking it. Was it on a surge protector or a plain power strip?
     
  11. Goodebar macrumors newbie

    Goodebar

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    Tampa
    #11
    Power surge

    It was on a strip with a surge protector. The Verizon modem that it was hooked to went off, but then back on in a minute.
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12
    How old is the surge protector? I ask because they lose protection everytime a power zap happens.
     
  13. COrocket macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #13
    I've been doing this with a 5G extreme for quite some time and it has never given me any issues
     
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14

    It is only supported on the 6th gen. tower style Extremes. Some have gotten it working in Time Machine with various degrees of reliability on the older models.
     
  15. Goodebar macrumors newbie

    Goodebar

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    Tampa
    #15
    power surge

    suddenly after being OFF for 3 days, my Airport extreme turned on when I plugged it in this morning...?
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    My theory is that the repeated zapping from electrical brownouts and increased voltage has weakened capacitors in either the power adapter or AirPort itself. This causes the capacitors to leak and need to cool down before turning back on. It probably won't run for long like this so you will need to consider replacing it. If you have AppleCare on your Apple TV, Mac, iPad, or iPhone you are eligible for a free repair provided the AirPort was purchased up to two years before the purchase of that device.
     
  17. Gozar macrumors regular

    Gozar

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #17
    I am also considering an Airport Extreme while BB has refurbs at a great price.
    All of my devices are N, 3 iPads, 3 iPhones, an ApplyTV (wired) and then my sons Galaxy Note 2 & Tab2 10.1. I also have a mixed Windows Mac LAN.

    The built in N wireless in my Uverse Gateway is not bad but coverage is poor.

    Should I get the Extreme or pick up an Asus N900? All I really need is better coverage but the draw of future proofing with AC has me hesitating.
     
  18. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #18
    Since the AC Extreme has beam forming and other neat features I would go with that over the N900. That being said, I am not sure what a BB refurbished Extreme carries in terms of warranty.
     
  19. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #19
    90 days.
     
  20. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20
    That is iffy in my mind knowing the crappy service the Geek Squad does.
     
  21. Gozar macrumors regular

    Gozar

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #21
    Thanks guys, I read in another thread there is a way to register it with apple and get the 1yr refurb warranty. If that works I will buy and keep it, if not I can return to BB.
     

Share This Page