Airport express or other solution for classroom music

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Italianblend, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Italianblend macrumors 68000

Italianblend

I am a music teacher and I'm investigating whether I can do this...

First, I do not have access to my school's wireless password, but my room does receive the wireless signal. And I have a PC (wired) in my classroom.

I am planning on getting an ipod for the music that I use in my classroom, and will transmit it wirelessly to speakers.

If I purchase an ipod and an airport express, will I be able to achieve this? Or, would I need something more like this: http://audioengineusa.com/Store/Audioengine-W2#overview

Also - will I be able to use itunes "shared" feature so that I won't have to physically have the entire music library on the ipod? If this is the case, I might in fact get an ipad 2...

I don't have much experience with apple setups so please give me suggestions on how to achieve this. I'm just looking for a wireless way to play the music I have - and want a quick way to search through the music, which is why I want an ipod touch, so I can type in a few letters and get the songs I want quickly.

Thanks

2. marzer, Apr 11, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2012

marzer macrumors 65816

marzer

Yes, with an iPod Touch (or iPhone or iPad), iTunes Cloud and Airport Express you can do just that using Airplay. Stream from the cloud via your iPod Touch (or iPhone/iPad) to the Airport Express.

Caveat: You will need your local WiFi password loaded in the AE if your going to connect wirelessly from an iOS device. If your local network does not use port lockdown, you may be able to see it by plugging it into a ethernet jack, if you have an spare (and active) port available.

But unless you get mobile service for an iPhone or iPad, you would need the local WiFi password anyway to connect your device to the network to access music from the cloud.